top of page

55th Annual Johnny Key Classic Pits Civil War Series Vs. Ocean Sprints


(PETERSEN MEDIA- Placerville, CA)- With all qualifying races completed, the stage is set for Saturday night as the Civil War Series presented by Flowmaster invades the Ocean Speedway to take on the Ocean Sprints presented by Taco Bravo during the 55th Annual Johnny Key Classic.

Heading into Saturday night’s event, Civil War regulars, Andy Forsberg, Shane Golobic, and Justin Sanders have locked into the A Main event as well as the Dash along with outsiders Jonathan Allard and Greg DeCaires.

Those five drivers will watch the night unfold in front of them until they are called upon to hot lap, and compete in the five-car Dash the set the first two and ½ rows for the 50-lap feature event.

With drivers locked in to Saturday’s race already, there is still room for 19 cars to race their way into the $6000 to win-$300 to start feature event. A special thanks goes out to Jason Newton of 35 Industries for coming on board and helping get the purse to what it is.

With time trials lining up Heat Races, B Mains, and a Last Chance Showdown, the 2015 Johnny Key Classic offers drivers numerous chances to get into the race as the field will expand to 24 starters, with the 25th spot reserved for a past champion of the race should they not race their way in.

Saturday night’s event is one of the most unique events of the year as the feature event is split into two 25-lap segments. At the end of the first segment, drivers will stop on the front stretch, and crews will have 10 minutes to make whatever changes they are able to do in that time frame, and it gives fans a chance to see what goes on in it pit area on a nightly basis.

Heading into the 55th Annual Johnny Key Classic, Justin Sanders looks to continue what has been an extraordinary for him and his team. Already with eight wins at the Ocean Speedway to his credit, Sanders comes into this event as the series’ last winner at the speedway back in July and will look to pick up his first career Johnny Key Classic triumph.

After winning with the series back in March, Sebastopol, CA wheel-man, Bradley Terrell currently sits second in series standings and his hungry for his second series win of the season, and first at the Ocean Speedway.

Fellow lock in drivers, Andy Forsberg and Shane Golobic have had strong seasons to date, and both have always performed well at the Ocean Speedway over the course of their careers. Being locked into the Dash is an advantage for both drivers as they will be tough from the first tow rows.

So far in 2015, Jonathan Allard has been blazing fast at the Ocean Speedway aboard his Clyde and Marion Lamar No. 3c machine, but bad luck has knocked him out of contention on two occasions thus far. Though he hasn’t done well at the Ocean Speedway in recent years, Greg DeCaires will climb aboard the Shaw Motorsports No. 92 machine and look for a big win on Sataurday. In a car normally piloted by Kyler Shaw, this combo should be one to watch.

Other drivers expected to be in action on Saturday night include Koen Shaw, Sean Becker, Cody Lamar, Kyle Hirst, Brad Furr, Jason Statler, Bud Kaeding, Brent Kaeding, Kurt Nelson, Ryan Robinson, DJ Netto, Scott Parker, Toby Bellbowen, and many more of the region’s top drivers.

Please note that with this being a special Saturday night event at the Ocean Speedway, the program will operate under the Saturday night time frame.  The front grandstand gate  will opening up at 3:30pm, while the pit board meeting will be held at 3:45pm with track packing at 4pm and qualifying & racing to follow.

The pit gate opens at 1pm. This is the same time frame used during all Saturday shows at the Ocean Speedway. All seating will be general admission with adult tickets $20, $15 for kids 6-12 and children five & under free.

Aside from the race on Saturday night, Ocean Speedway & Taco Bravo will be hosting a Johnny Key Classic Pre-Party at the Taco Bravo location at 1950 South Bascom Avenue, Campbell, CA from 5pm to 8:30pm on Friday August 28, 2015. All pre-qualified cars and other teams are welcome to come and display their race cars at the event. Help us sell 3055 Taco’s. Tickets for Saturday will also be available at the party.

ON TAP: The Civil War Series presented by Flowmaster is now set for another big night of racing on August 29th at the Ocean Speedway for the 55th Annual Johnny Key Classic.

WINNERS: Shane Golobic (March 20th, Marysville Raceway), Bradley Terrell (March 28th, Petaluma Speedway), Sean Becker (April 11th, Calistoga Speedway), Andy Forsberg (May 23rd Marysville Raceway), Jonathan Allard (May 24th Silver Dollar Speedway), Greg DeCaires (May 30th Placerville Speedway), Jonathan Allard (June 20th, Petaluma Speedway), Justin Sanders (July 10th, Ocean Speedway), Carson Macedo (August 8th, Placerville Speedway).

STAY CONNECTED: Keep up with the Civil War Series Presented By Flowmaster, and find complete results and point standings by clicking over to,   ‘Liking’, or following us on twitter at  For more information on Flowmaster, please visit

CIVIL WAR SERIES PRESENTED BY FLOWMASTER- Founded in 1991 as the North-South Series, the Civil War Sprint Car Series was born in 1993 giving 360ci Sprint Cars in California a sanctioning body. What started as just a handful of races at three different tracks has evolved into quite the series. In 2015, the Civil War Sprint Car Series will host 14 events at 8 different tracks around California.

bottom of page