top of page

Abreu Bags Tribute to GP; Golobic Claims 2014 Championship


(PETERSEN MEDIA- Stockton, CA)- With rain delaying the 2014 Civil War Series Presented by Flowmaster season finale a day, fans were treated to a rare Sunday night program at the Stockton Dirt Track, and when the wild night came to a close, it was Rico Abreu celebrating his second series win of the season, his 24th overall for the year, and Shane Golobic earning his first career series championship.

Rico Abreu and Andy Forsberg led the field to green, on what was a sticky and hooked up surface, and it was the Auburn, CA driver jumping out to the early lead, though Abreu was with him every step of the way.

The third lap saw the Rutherford, CA get under Forsberg to take the top spot, and as Abreu made the pass, Forsberg pulled his machine off the speedway with mechanical woes, bringing out the first caution.

While most were watching the battle up front, 22nd starting, Tim Kaeding, was putting on a show from the tail end of the field, and gained attention under the caution as he had worked his way up to eighth in just three markers.

When the race came back to life, Abreu continued to lead arson Macedo, Shane Golobic, Herman Klein, and Willie Croft, as the field navigated the tricky surface, bouncing through some ruts, as weekend rains did seem make track conditions tough during the night.

On the ninth circuit, Shane Golobic was victimized as he caught a rut, and sent his Keith Day Trucking No. 22 machine upside down, and ending his night. Though it was not the end he wanted, fans cheered Golobic as he climbed from his car as he claimed the 2014 Civil War Series Presented by Flowmaster Championship. Golobic became the first driver not named Forsberg or Becker to win the championship since Greg Decaires won in 2005.

Back under green, the field clicked off two laps before Greg DeCaires got over down the back stretch. DeCaires would be okay, but was visibly not happy with a fellow competitor.

The action heated up when the green flag dropped, again, as Abreu continued to lead, but behind him Tim Kaeding surged up to the third spot, and chased after Carson Macedo, as Abreu slowly began to check out.

With the race getting into a rhythm, Abreu found himself in lapped traffic, but still held a sizeable lead, as Kaeding worked into the second spot on the 20th lap, to much of the crowds delight.

With Abreu held up in traffic, Kaeding was able to take a chunk out of the advantage. Abreu caught a rut in three and four during the closing laps, and upset his car, and the crowd rose to their feet, as Kaeding closed in on the leader.

Abreu was flawless, however, from that point on as he cruised to his second Civil War Series win of the season, making him the only repeat winner of 2014.

Tim Kaeding would finish second followed by Macedo, Croft, Dominic Scelzi, Bradley Terrell, DJ Netto, Sean Becker, Andy Gregg, and Kyle Hirst rounding out the Top-10.

“I really like this place, and tonight it was really fast, and I think that’s what the fans like,” Abreu said in victory lane. “We have always run well here, and its nice to win in front of a big crowd on a Sunday night. Thank you all for coming out, and a special thanks to my guys for their hard work.”

Though he came up just short, Kaeding was pleased with his run in the feature event. “We dug ourselves a hole in time trials, and we just snuck in through the B Main, so it was a pretty good recovery in the feature,” he said. “I have to thank Rod TIner and the guys for the car they gave me, that was fun.”

“We had a very good car, but we got beat by two of the best drivers out here right now,” third place finishing, Carson Macedo, said besides his machine. “Paul Baines and the Tarlton Racing guys gave me a great car, and I am a little disappointed with third, but it was a strong night for us.”

Fans were treated to an exciting B Main, as well on this night as Cory Eliason picked up the win over Herman Klein, Kyle Hirst, Bradley Terrell, Chase Johnson, and Tim Kaeding. The last lap of the race saw Johnson, TK, and Justyn Cox racing three wide for the final transfer spots, with Johnson and Kaeding just inching Cox out at the line.

In other preliminary action, Andy Gregg started the night off by setting a new track record during time trials, with heat race wins going to Netto, Macedo, Ryan Bernal, and Matt Peterson. Heath Duinkerken won the C, and Andy Forsberg won the night’s dash, that boasted $1000 to win.

The Civil War Sprint Car Series would like to thank Flowmaster, BR Motorsports, A.R.T. Speed Equipment, Brodix, ButlerBuilt, CRV Carbon Solutions, Design 500, Dirt Solution, Taco Bravo, Hansen Machine, Frankland Racing Supply, Fuel Safe, Hoosier, Joe Hunt Magnetos, Kaeding Performance, King Racing Products, KSE Power Steering Products, Pit Stop USA, MPD, All Pro, RCM Design, Rod End Supply, Racing Optics, SRP, VSR, and Weld Racing for their support.

ON TAP: The Civil War Series presented by Flowmaster has concluded it’s 2014 season, and we thank all of the teams and the fans that supported us. Please be on the lookout for our 2015 schedule that will come out this winter. Also, remember that our Championship Banquet is coming up on Nov. 15th.

WINNERS: Winners in the 2014 California Sprint Car Civil War Series Presented By Flowmaster… Andy Gregg- 1 (Marysville Raceway Park on March 15th), DJ Netto-1 (Marysville Raceway Park on May 24th), Shane Golobic-1 (Silver Dollar Speedway on May 25th),  Andy Forsberg- 1 (Placerville Speedway on May 31st), Mason Moore (Petaluma Speedway on July 5th), Brad Furr (Ocean Speedway on July 11th), Greg DeCaires (Placerville Speedway on August 9th), Rico Abreu (Ocean Speedway on August 23rd), Matt Peterson (Silver Dollar Speedway on September 3rd), Colby Copeland (Petaluma Speedway on September 20th), Rico Abreu (Stockton Dirt Track on November 2nd).

STAY CONNECTED: Keep up with the Civil War Series Presented By Flowmaster, and find complete results and point standings by clicking over to,   ‘Liking’, or following us on twitter at

CIVIL WAR SERIES PRESENTED BY FLOWMASTER- Founded in 1991 as the North-South Series, the Civil War Sprint Car Series was born in 1993 giving 360 Sprint Cars in California a sanctioning body. What started as just a handful of races at three different tracks has evolved into quite the series. In 2014, the Civil War Sprint Car Series will host 14 events at 8 different tracks around California.



bottom of page