top of page

Andy Forsberg Wins The Battle And The War; Claims Eighth Civil War Series Presented By Flowmaster Ch


(PETERSEN MEDIA- Stockton, CA)- The winningest driver in Civil War Series presented by Flowmaster history, Andy Forsberg, further enriched himself in the series record book on Saturday night at the Stockton Dirt Track during the Tribute to Gary Patterson Championship Spectacular, as he claimed his eighth series championship by way of his capturing his third feature event win of the 2015 season.

Heading into the season finale at the Stockton Dirt Track, Forsberg brought a slim 10-point lead in over Shane Golobic and Justin Sanders. With Sanders having terminal engine issues during hot laps it would become a two-headed battle as both former series champions looked for more glory.

After Forsberg established a new qualifying track record during time trials, and ran third in his heat race, Golobic’s second place effort in his heat race would have the championship battle at 14 points heading into the final feature event of the 2015 season.

Forsberg would start on the front row alongside Colby Copeland, and after two attempted starts the third would be the charm as Forsberg outgunned Copeland into turns one and two and set the pace early in the event.

The heavy and rough Stockton Dirt Track played into Forsberg’s favor as the grizzled veteran has made it very clear he prefers track conditions like he saw on Saturday night. While he continued to lead, and check out from the field, the battle behind him was intense as Jonathan Allard and Justyn Cox would battle for the third spot.

As Forsberg continued to lead the way, there was no possible way for Freemont, CA’s Golobic to better himself, but the 2014 series champion was not giving up as he worked his way forward from his 11th starting position and got into the top-five by the half way point.

With Golobic able to move forward, Cory Eliason was also on the move from his seventh row starting position, and Kyle Hirst had his elbows up from the 18th starting position as they both raced their way toward the top-five.

Lap 25 would bring the race’s final caution flag of the night, and though Forsberg was able to throw his keys on the table and check out on the restart, there was much to be decided behind him.

Justyn Cox was able to make a move to get around Colby Copeland to grab the second spot, and behind that battle, Jonathan Allard and Cory Eliason fought for the fourth spot.

With the final checkered flag of the season in the air, it was Forsberg taking the win followed by Cox, Copeland, Allard, Eliason, Golobic, Steven Kent, Geoff Ensign, and Koen Shaw rounding out the Top-10.

By way of his victory, Forsberg added another Civil War Series Presented by Flowmaster Championship to his resume as the Auburn, CA pilot now has eight series trophy’s sitting on his mantle.

The final race of the season got off to a very quick start as Forsberg established a new Civil War Series Presented by Flowmaster Single Lap Track Record at the Stockton Dirt Track, setting the bar at 13.168 seconds.

A four-heat race program was in place on this night and wins went to Sean Becker, Jonathan Allard, Colby Copeland, and Mason Moore.

The exciting B Main saw Sebastopol, CA  driver, Bradley Terrell score the win as Kyle Hirst, Koen Shaw, Zack Lynskey, Steven Kent, and DJ Freitas all made the transfer into the feature event.

ON TAP: The Civil War Series presented by Flowmaster has concluded the 2015 season, and the Night of Champions will be this coming Saturday night.

WINNERS: Shane Golobic (March 20th, Marysville Raceway), Bradley Terrell (March 28th, Petaluma Speedway), Sean Becker (April 11th, Calistoga Speedway), Andy Forsberg (May 23rd Marysville Raceway), Jonathan Allard (May 24th Silver Dollar Speedway), Greg DeCaires (May 30th Placerville Speedway), Jonathan Allard (June 20th, Petaluma Speedway), Justin Sanders (July 10th, Ocean Speedway), Carson Macedo (August 8th, Placerville Speedway), Andy Forsberg (August 29th Ocean Speedway), Sean Becker (September 9th Silver Dollar Speedway), Shane Golobic (September 26th Petaluma Speedway), Andy Forsberg (November 7th, Stockton Dirt Track).

STAY CONNECTED: Keep up with the Civil War Series Presented By Flowmaster, and find complete results and point standings by clicking over to,   ‘Liking’, or following us on twitter at  For more information on Flowmaster, please visit

CIVIL WAR SERIES PRESENTED BY FLOWMASTER- Founded in 1991 as the North-South Series, the Civil War Sprint Car Series was born in 1993 giving 360ci Sprint Cars in California a sanctioning body. What started as just a handful of races at three different tracks has evolved into quite the series. In 2015, the Civil War Sprint Car Series will host 14 events at 8 different tracks around California.



bottom of page