top of page

Bud Bests Ocean Sprints pres. by Taco Bravo at Ocean Speedway


(PETERSEN MEDIA- Watsonville, CA)- Bud Kaeding proved to be too tough in traffic on Friday night at Ocean Speedway as the Campbell, CA driver was able to park the famed Williams Motorsports No. 0 machine in victory lane during round number two of Ocean Sprints presented by Taco Bravo action.

Jumping out to the early lead, Kaeding would lead the likes of Dominic Sceliz, Justin Sanders, Gio Scelzi and Kurt Nelson until the caution flew for a stalled Kyle Offill on the race’s second circuit.

Back underway, Kaeding would get another great jump and would continue to lead the way for a brief three-lap green flag run until the caution flew for Matthew Moles.

When the the action picked back up, D. Scelzi was able to hang with Kaeding as an extended green flag run finally saw lapped traffic come into the equation. Running side by side and also naviagting slower cars, Kaeding would continue to hold the advantage until Scelzi was able to sneak by on lap 16.

Scelzi’s lead would be short lived however, as Kaeding would use traffic to his advantage the next time around the ¼ mile bullring and would reassume the race lead on the 17th circuit.

Dense traffic would continue make things tough on the leaders, but it would allow Shane Golobic to work his way into the Top-Five as he was able to get by Gio Sceliz to overkae the fourth position just before te race’s final catuion flew on lap 27.

With clear track in front of him for the final laps, Kaeding would cruise to the win, but all eyes would be on the battle for second. In a close fight for the spot Dominic Sceliz would hang on to the runner up position as round 1 winner, Justin Sanders took the final spot on the podium.

Shane Golobic would finish fourht, Gio Scelzi fifth, and Tommy Tarlton, Brad Furr, Cole Macedo, Koen Shaw, and a hard charging Sean Becker would round out the Top-10.

Friday night saw 25 Ocean Sprints check into Ocean Speedway, and Justin Sanders would open the night up by  laying down the fastest lap in time trials with a time of 11.488 seconds.

Bud Kaeding, Kurt Nelson, and Billy Aton would win heat races, while Kaeding would also win the Dash and earn the right to start on the pole for the 30-lap feature.

Kyler Shaw would win the ‘B’, and transfer into the ‘A’ along with Kaleb Montgomery, Jeremy Chisu, Gary Nelson, Sean Becker, and Josh Chisum.

The Beer Optics Hard Luck Award would be presented to Alan Beck as he was the lone roll over victim on this night, and Sean Becker would be the Hard Charger after advancing 10 positions in the feautre event.

2018 Winners- Justin Sanders (March 30th), Bud Kaeding (April 13th).

ON TAP- The Ocean Sprints pres. by Taco Bravo will be back in action on April 27th at Ocean Speedway.

STAY CONNECTED- Stay up to speed with all things Ocean Speedway by visiting the website at, by following us on Twitter @Ocean_Speedway, or by liking us on Facebook at

Ocean Speedway is located at 2601 E. Lake Ave Watsonville, CA 95076.

PETERSEN MEDIA: Petersen Media is a promotional agency that can handle your public relations, marketing, and any other promotional needs. Petersen Media utilizes multiple tactics to help you reach your intended audience, and boost awareness.




bottom of page