top of page

Bud Kaeding Wins First Career Civil War Series Pres. by Flowmaster Feature During Series’ First Visi


(PETERSEN MEDIA- Tulare, CA, )- In what was the Civil War Series pres. by Flomaster’s first ever visit to Thunderbowl Raceway in Tulare, CA it was only fitting to have a first time winner with the series and on Saturday night Bud Kaeding recorded his first ever series win as he would also win the King of the West feature on this night as well.

Shane Golobic and Cole Macedo would lead the field to green, but Kaeding would snooker them both on the opening lap as he would race from his second row starting position to grab the early lead.

Out front, Kaeding would look extremely strong as he laid down some great laps around the Thunderbowl Raceway as he would encounter lapped traffic by the race’s seventh lap.

Behind Kaeding, the battle would be for second between Shane Golobic and Kyle Hirst as DJ Netto and Macedo battled behind them for fourth. Moving along at a blistering pace around the high banked 1/3 mile speed plant, the race’s first caution would fly on the eighth lap and get the leaders out of traffic and put them in single file formation for the restart.

Kaeding would jump on the throttle when the green lights flashed and would quickly open up a sizeable lead over Golobic, Hirst, Macedo, Netto, Jace Vander Weerd and Jarrett Soares.

With Kaeding still out front, Golobic and Hirst would continue to fight to second as Netto would overtake Macedo for fourth.

As the leaders began to gap themselves from each other, the race’s final caution flag would fly on lap 18 and would again line the field back up in single file formation one last time.

The defending King of the West Champion would leave the field in his wake but this time Hirst would get around Golobic to take over the second spot.

Kaeding would go on to score his first ever win with the storied series as Hirst would finish second and Golobic would take the final position on the podium.

DJ Netto would finish fourth, Cole Macedo fifth, Jace Vander Weerd would finish sixth, Jarrett Soares seventh, Dustin Freitas eighth, Chelsea Blevins ninth, and Cole Danell would round out the Top-10.

Bud Kaeding would earn quick time honors on this night with heat race wins going to Kaeding, Netto, and Hirst, while Shane Golobic was victorious in the Dash.

2018 Civil War Series presented by Flowmaster Schedule

5/5 Thunderbowl Raceway

5/26 Marysville Raceway – Mel Hall Memorial

5/27 Silver Dollar Speedway- Silver Dollar Fair Race

6/23 Calistoga Speedway – with KWS-NARC 410’s

7/20 Ocean Speedway- Howard Kaeding Classic

8/25 Ocean Speedway- 58th Annual Johnny Key Classic

9/5   Silver Dollar Speedway- Gold Cup Opener

9/15 Calistoga Speedway- Season Finale with World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series

ON TAP: The Civil War Series presented by Flowmaster returns to action on May5th when they make a return trip to Thunderbowl Raceway.

2018 WINNERS: Justin Sanders (March 24th Marysville Raceway), Bud Kaeding (April 21st Thunderbowl Raceway)

STAY CONNECTED: Keep up with the Civil War Series Presented By Flowmaster, and find complete results and point standings by clicking over to, ‘Liking’, or following us on twitter at For more information on Flowmaster, please visit

CIVIL WAR SERIES PRESENTED BY FLOWMASTER- Founded in 1991 as the North-South Series, the Civil War Sprint Car Series was born in 1993 giving 360ci Sprint Cars in California a sanctioning body. What started as just a handful of races at three different tracks has evolved into quite the series. In 2018, the Civil War Sprint Car Series will host 10 events at 5 different tracks around California.




bottom of page