top of page

Change Of Plans- Civil War To Invade Petaluma Speedway On Saturday Night


(PETERSEN MEDIA- Aptos, CA)- With just two races left on the 2014 schedule, the stars and cars of the California Sprint Car Civil War Series Presented By Flowmaster will invade the Petaluma Speedway on Saturday night, as area fires forced a cancelation at the Placerville Speedway.

“I really want to thank Rick Faeth and his staff for making this happen in such a timely manner,” Series Promoter, John Prentice said. “We had a rain out at the speedway earlier this year, and then we had a great show there in July, so we are all happy this worked out. With the severity of the fire near Placerville, we send all of our thoughts and prayers to the residents and the safety workers, and hope they can get that contained ASAP.”

During the most recent Civil War event at the Petaluma Speedway, Chico, CA driver, Mason Moore, put together a very strong performance as he earned the win that ultimately locked him into the Johnny Key Classic. During our most recent event, which took place at the Silver Dollar Speedway, Moore looked to be well on his way to a victory, until Matt Peterson made a late race pass to earn his first career Civil War victory, and first ever victory to boot.

For nearly the entire season, Fremont, CA wheelman, Shane Golobic, has led the Civil War Point Standings, and he will look to add on to his very consistent campaign, and add to his lead, and he looks to capture his first career series championship. Over the course of his career, Golobic has done very well at the Petaluma Speedway, and would like nothing more than to add another win to his resume, as he looks to pad his point lead.

2013 series champion, Sean Becker, sits in the second spot, and is looking for a monster night on the notorious red clay, as he sits 93 markers behind Golobic. In what has been an up and down season for Becker and his Main Motorsports team, ‘The Shark’ will look for some late season heroics at the Petaluma Speedway, as he did just one year ago on his way to the title.

For the second Civil War Series Presented By Flowmaster race-in-a-row, Justin Sanders enters the event fresh off of a win. Picking up his fifth win at the Placerville Speedway last Saturday night, Sanders comes into Saturday night’s event sitting third in the series standings, just 15 markers behind second place, Sean Becker, and 108 behind Shane Golobic.

Andy Forsberg has had what many would call an ‘off’ year, and as he sits fourth in the standings, will set his sights on becoming the series’ first repeat winner of 2014. After dominating the May 31st race at the Placerville speedway, Forsberg has been very strong with the series in it’s last few events, and will look to cash in again, and score another win with his F&F Racing team.

The series’ most recent winner, Matt Peterson rounds out the top five heading into the 10th round of 2014. Peterson has had great runs with the Civil War Series as of late, as he picked up a third place finish in Petaluma, CA back in July, was running third with three laps to go at the Johnny Key Classic until a flat tire derailed him, and picked up a very impressive win in Chico, CA two weeks ago. With the series back at Petaluma, Peterson will look to build on momentum he has built at the track over his last few visits.

Though he has had a tough string of luck with the series as of late, Herman Klein enters this weekend’s event as the newly crowned Petaluma Speedway Track Champion. Klein was very strong in the feature event back in July, and will surely be hungry to do well for the Petaluma crowd as he goes after his first Civil War win of the season.

The 2014 California Sprint Car Civil War Series presented By Flowmaster has been a very competitive series in 2014. Through nine events, the series has seen nine different winner, and Saturday night’s event is shaping up to be another star studded field. Mixing the always exciting Placerville Speedway with the stars and cars of the Civil War Series is always a must see.

As always, please note that things will get off to an earlier start at the Petaluma Speedway with the gates opening at 4pm, and cars scheduled to be on the track by 430pm.

Aside from the drivers mentioned above, we are expecting drivers like Alissa Geving, Koen Shaw, Mason Moore, Justyn Cox, Carl Droivold, Jimmy Trulli, Andy Gregg, Clayton Snow, Kyle Hirst, Colby Copeland, Bradley Terrell, and many more to be in action.

The Civil War Sprint Car Series would like to thank Flowmaster, BR Motorsports, A.R.T. Speed Equipment, Brodix, ButlerBuilt, CRV Carbon Solutions, Design 500, Dirt Solution, Taco Bravo, Hansen Machine, Frankland Racing Supply, Fuel Safe, Hoosier, Joe Hunt Magnetos, Kaeding Performance, King Racing Products, KSE Power Steering Products, Pit Stop USA, MPD, All Pro, RCM Design, Rod End Supply, Racing Optics, SRP, VSR, and Weld Racing for their support.

ON TAP: The action packed Civil War Series Presented By Flowmaster will be back in action for stop No. 10 of the season on Saturday, September 20th,

WINNERS: Winners in the 2014 California Sprint Car Civil War Series Presented By Flowmaster… Andy Gregg- 1 (Marysville Raceway Park on March 15th), DJ Netto-1 (Marysville Raceway Park on May 24th), Shane Golobic-1 (Silver Dollar Speedway on May 25th),  Andy Forsberg- 1 (Placerville Speedway on May 31st), Mason Moore (Petaluma Speedway on July 5th), Brad Furr (Ocean Speedway on July 11th), Greg DeCaires (Placerville Speedway on August 9th), Rico Abreu (Ocean Speedway on August 23rd), Matt Peterson (Silver Dollar Speedway on September 3rd)

STAY CONNECTED: Keep up with the Civil War Series Presented By Flowmaster, and find complete results and point standings by clicking over to,   ‘Liking’, or following us on twitter at

CIVIL WAR SERIES PRESENTED BY FLOWMASTER- Founded in 1991 as the North-South Series, the Civil War Sprint Car Series was born in 1993 giving 360 Sprint Cars in California a sanctioning body. What started as just a handful of races at three different tracks has evolved into quite the series. In 2014, the Civil War Sprint Car Series will host 14 events at 8 different tracks around California.



bottom of page