top of page

Chase Johnson Scores POWRi BCRA Lucas Oil Midget Series Season Opening Win


(PETERSEN MEDIA- Bakersfield, CA )- Friday night at The Dirt Track at Kern County, Chase Johnson grabbed the race lead on the third lap and never looked back as he claimed the POWRi BCRA Lucas Oil Midget Series’ season opening win.

Austin Liggett and Maria Cofer would lead the field to green and it would be the reigning Dirt Series Champion, Cofer grabbing the early lead as Chase Johnson would jump up into second.

While Cofer led the first two laps, Johnson would make his move on the race’s third circuit as he surged into the lead aboard the Morris Motorsports machine. While Johnson led the way and Cofer followed in second, Ligget would find himself in third as Jake Swanson began working his way forward from sixth.

As Johnson continued to lead the way, the best action on the track would take place behind him as Liggett and Cofer would battle for the second spot, with Cofer keeping him at bay.

Swanson would join the battle at the race’s halfway point, and would actually take second for good on the 22nd lap.

Johnson would hang on to grab the win over Swanson, Cofer, Liggett, and Robert Dalby rounding out the Top-5.

With 17 cars on hand for the season opening event, Austin Liggett would pace the field in time trials as he would go on to win his heat race with Corey Elliot, and Maria Cofer also scoring wins.


A main- 1. Chase Johson, 2. Jake Swanson, 3. Maria Cofer, 4. Austin Liggett, 5. Robert Dalby, 6. Shannon McQueen, 7. Ben Worth, 8. Tery Nichols, 9. Troy Morris, 10. Kyle Beilman, 11. Gage Rucker, 12. CJ Sarna, 13. Robert Carson, 14. Dylan Ito, 15. Corey Elliot, 16. Michael Faccinto, DNS Frankie Guerini

ON TAP: The 2019 POWRi BCRA Lucas Oil Midget Series will return to action on April 27th at Stockton 99 Speedway.

2019 WINNERS: Chase Johnson (March 15 at Kern County)

STAY CONNECTED: Keep up with the POWRi BCRA Lucas Oil Midget Series by clicking over to

POWRI BCRA LUCAS OIL MIDGET SERIES- Founded in 1939, the Bay Cities Racing Association has a rich and flavorful history of midget racing in the “Golden State” of California. For eight decades, the BCRA has been giving drivers a proving ground and giving fans the thrilling races they crave, be it on the dirt tracks or on the pavement surfaces. In 2019, the series joined forces with POWRi to create the POWRi-BCRA Lucas Oil Midget Series.




bottom of page