top of page

Civil War Series presented by Flowmaster Heads To Placerville Speedway Saturday Night for First John


(PETERSEN MEDIA- Aptos, CA)- Taking a week off following a successful double-header weekend over the Memorial Day Holiday, the Civil War Series presented by Flowmaster is set to attack the high banked Placerville Speedway on Saturday night for the first of two visits in 2016, with the winner of the race locking into the Johnny key Classic that is scheduled in August at the Ocean Speedway.

“We had an awesome weekend of racing with the Civil War Series presented by Flowmaster over the Memorial Day Weekend, and I know all of our teams and our staff are reall looking forward to Placerville this Saturday night,” John Prentice said. “We have had some great car counts and great shows thus far, and with a Johnny Key Classic spot up for grabs, it should be another great night of racing.”

After winning the 17th Annual Mel Hall Memorial and running second at the Silver Dollar Fair, eight-time Civil War Series presented by Flowmaster champion, Andy Forsberg comes into this event as the early point leader, as he is in search of his ninth title. Forsberg who is no stranger to the Placerville Speedway, picked up a win earlier this year and is looking to lock into the Johnny Key Classic after winning the race one year ago.

Fresh off his second win of the season at the Placerville Speedway, Mason Moore will look to continue his hot streak at the famous bullring. Currently leading the track championship standings at Placerville, Moore will come into Saturday’s event looking to cut into Forsberg’s slim 15 point advantage as he looks for his first Civil War Series presented by Flowmaster feature event win of the season.

Sitting quietly in the third spot is Sebastopol’s Geoff Ensign. Quietly collecting Top-10’s in the series’ first three events, Ensign comes into the fourth event of the season fresh off of his first win of 2016 this past Saturday night at the Petaluma Speedway. With non-wing success at the track in the past, Ensign will look to get his Ivan Worden team their second consecutive win this weekend.

Known for it’s high-banked configuration and red clay, the Placerville Speedway is a stop most drivers, teams, and fans look forward to year after year. Saturday night proves to be another star studded show with the aforementioned drivers scheduled to be in attendance along with Tony Gualda, Steven Tiner, Kyle Hirst, Michael Ing, Bradley Terrell, Cody Lamar, Seth Nunes, Jonathan Allard, Sean Becker, Matt Peterson and many more travelers as they will square up with the Placerville contingent consisting of Greg DeCaires, Jimmy Truli, Mike Benson, Justin Johnson, Logan Seavey and many more.

Saturday night the front gates are scheduled to open at 3pm with racing action scheduled to go green at 7pm. Adult tickets will be available for $18, while seniors and juniors will be admitted for $15, kids 6-11 for just $6, and children 5 and under will be admitted for free.

2016 Schedule

June 11th– Placerville Speedway

June 18th– Petaluma Speedway

July 15th– Ocean Speedway (Howard Kaeding Classic)

August 6th– Placerville Speedway (Mark Forni Classic)

August 20th– Ocean Speedway (Johnny Key Classic)

September 7th– Silver Dollar Speedway (Gold Cup)

September 17th– Marysville Raceway

September 24th– Petaluma Speedway

November 5th– Stockton Dirt Track (Tribute To GP)

ON TAP: The Civil War Series presented by Flowmaster will head to the Placerville Speedway on Saturday night June 11th.

WINNERS: Willie Croft (March 25th, Silver Dollar Speedway), Andy Forsberg (May 28th, Marysville Raceway), Cory Eliason (May 29th, Silver Dollar Speedway)

STAY CONNECTED: Keep up with the Civil War Series Presented By Flowmaster, and find complete results and point standings by clicking over to, ‘Liking’, or following us on twitter at For more information on Flowmaster, please visit

CIVIL WAR SERIES PRESENTED BY FLOWMASTER- Founded in 1991 as the North-South Series, the Civil War Sprint Car Series was born in 1993 giving 360ci Sprint Cars in California a sanctioning body. What started as just a handful of races at three different tracks has evolved into quite the series. In 2016, the Civil War Sprint Car Series will host 12 events at 6 different tracks around California.




bottom of page