top of page

Civil War Series Presented By Flowmaster Set For 12 Races in 2016


(PETERSEN MEDIA- Aptos, CA)- After a hotly contested 2015 season, the Civil War Series presented by Flowmaster is excited for a 12-race 2016 campaign that should once again have fans on the edge of their seats on a nightly basis.

As the West Coast’s premier traveling 360ci series embarks on it’s 26th season of operation, the stars and cars of the Civil War Series presented by Flowmaster will kick things off on Friday March 25th at the Silver Dollar Speedway for the first of three appearances at the north state quarter mile facility.

With tracks getting into their weekly routines in April and early May, the series will return to action for it’s annual North State Memorial Day Double Header, as the Marysville Raceway will again host 17th Annual Mel Hall Memorial on Saturday May 28th, one night before the series’ return to the Silver Dollar Speedway for the always popular Fair Race on Sunday the 29th.

The Summer months lead into a busy time for the Civil War Series as they make their first of two stops at the Placerville Speedway on June 11th. 2016 marks a special season at Placerville as it will be the first season ran under Russell Motorsports Inc. leadership.

Moving to the Bay-Area the following weekend, the Petaluma Speedway plays host on June 18th, before the series rolls into the Ocean Speedway on Friday July 15th for the 6th Annual Howard Kaeding Classic, an event that has turned into one of the most anticipated on a year-by-year basis.

Following the HK Classic, the Series travels back to the high-banked Placerville Speedway for the 11th Annual Mark Forni Classic, an event that has offered a healthy check to the winner and has attracted some of the regions top drivers over the course of it’s existence.

The 56th Annual Johnny Key Classic will again be held at the Ocean Speedway on August 20th, and at this time qualifying races have not been announced, but we will make those public once they are finalized.

Wednesday September 7th, the Series will open up the 63rd Annual Gold Cup Race of Champions in what will be their final visit to the Silver Dollar Speedway of 2016, and on September 17th the series returns to the Marysville Raceway for one final time.

September 24th will see the series return to the Petaluma Speedway for one final night of points racing leading into the Championship finale.

After experimenting with the mulligan concept during the 2015 season, PMG has decided to do away with that rule in 2016, meaning all nights will count towards the championship points total.

2016 Schedule

March 25th– Silver Dollar Speedway

May 28th– Marysville Raceway (Mel Hall Memorial)

May 29th– Silver Dollar Speedway (Fair Race)

June 11th– Placerville Speedway

June 18th– Petaluma Speedway

July 15th– Ocean Speedway (Howard Kaeding Classic)

August 6th– Placerville Speedway (Mark Forni Classic)

August 20th– Ocean Speedway (Johnny Key Classic)

September 7th– Silver Dollar Speedway (Gold Cup)

September 17th- Marysville Raceway

September 24th– Petaluma Speedway

November 5th– Stockton Dirt Track (Tribute To GP)

ON TAP: The Civil War Series presented by Flowmaster will kick off it’s 2016 season at the Silver Dollar Speedway in Chico, CA on Friday March 25th.

WINNERS: (2015) Shane Golobic (March 20th, Marysville Raceway), Bradley Terrell (March 28th, Petaluma Speedway), Sean Becker (April 11th, Calistoga Speedway), Andy Forsberg (May 23rd Marysville Raceway), Jonathan Allard (May 24th Silver Dollar Speedway), Greg DeCaires (May 30th Placerville Speedway), Jonathan Allard (June 20th, Petaluma Speedway), Justin Sanders (July 10th, Ocean Speedway), Carson Macedo (August 8th, Placerville Speedway), Andy Forsberg (August 29th Ocean Speedway), Sean Becker (September 9th Silver Dollar Speedway), Shane Golobic (September 26th Petaluma Speedway), Andy Forsberg (November 7th, Stockton Dirt Track).

STAY CONNECTED: Keep up with the Civil War Series Presented By Flowmaster, and find complete results and point standings by clicking over to, ‘Liking’, or following us on twitter at For more information on Flowmaster, please visit

CIVIL WAR SERIES PRESENTED BY FLOWMASTER- Founded in 1991 as the North-South Series, the Civil War Sprint Car Series was born in 1993 giving 360ci Sprint Cars in California a sanctioning body. What started as just a handful of races at three different tracks has evolved into quite the series. In 2016, the Civil War Sprint Car Series will host 12 events at 6 different tracks around California.



bottom of page