top of page

Cody Fendley Dominates Hunt Wingless Tour Stop at Placerville Speedway

(PETERSEN MEDIA-Placerville, CA)- Saturday night at Placerville Speedway, local standout Cody Fendley would turn in a masterful performance as he rode to his first series win of the 2021 season as he took top honors at his home track.

With Marcus Hardina and Shane Hopkins leading the field to green, it was Hardina getting the early jump on the field as Fendley was able to dip under Hopkins and take second.

Once in second, Fendley would continue showcase a ton of early speed as he was able to get by Hardina one lap later and take command of the race.

After a couple of stoppages in the early goings of the feature, the race would settle into an extended green flag run and it would allow Fendley to flex his muscles as open his lead up over Hopkins who had taken the second position, and 15th starting Daniel Whitely who had moved into third.

As Fendley continued to lead the way, the action behind him would heat up as Hopkins would find himself in a tussle with Hardina and Whitley in what became a three-headed battle for the second position.

With Fendley continuing to gap the field, Whitley was able to power his way into second around Hopkins with just a couple of laps remaining. On the slick surface with a bug curb built up, Whitely would stumble on the last lap and it would allow Hopkins to reclaim second and Hardina to reclaim third.

Up front however, it was all Fendley on this night as he raced to the win over Hopkins, Hardina, Whitley, and Brent Steck rounding out the Top-5.

Saturday night a total of 28 cars checked in for action and it was Shawn Arriaga earning Ashely Van Den Berg Home Loans Fast Time Honors.

Fendley raced to the win in Benic Enterprises Heat No. 1, Hopkins withheld a mechanical failure to win Brown and Miller Heat Race No. 2, Shawn Jones won King Racing Products Heat Race No. 3, and Braidon Moniz won Heat Race No. 4 over Daniel Whitely who took home the Santomauro Racing Products Contingency award.

By way of his charge from 15th to 4th, Whitley also took home Santomauro Racing Products Hard Charger honors. Tony Bernard took home the BR Motorsports P.15 award, and Scott Clough was the Benic Enterprises First Non-Transfer.

A Main Finishing Order

  1. Cody Fendley #9

  2. Shane Hopkins #51

  3. Marcus Hardina #21X

  4. Daniel Whitley #6K

  5. Brent Steck #2STX

  6. Jacob Tuttle #3T

  7. Dylan Newberry #63

  8. Josh Young #3F

  9. Tim Sherman Jr. #1JR

  10. Trey Walters #7

  11. Shawn Arriaga #56

  12. Nathan Schank #1S

  13. Shawn Jones #14

  14. Jimmy Christian #32

  15. Tony Bernard #50

  16. Eathon Lanfri #31P

  17. Jarrett Soares #12

  18. Heath Holdsclaw #33

ON TAP: The Hunt Wingless Series gets right back to action on Saturday night at Petaluma Speedway.

WINNERS: Jake Morgan (April 3rd Placerville Speedway), Shawn Jones (April 17th Petaluma Speedway), Bradley Terrell (May 15th Merced Speedway), Jake Morgan (May 22nd Stockton Dirt Track), Shawn Jones (July 3rd Stockton Dirt Track), Shawn Jones (July 17th Placerville Speedway), Shawn Jones (July 24th Merced Speedway).

STAY CONNECTED: Stay up to speed with the series by liking us at clicking over to the new

JOE HUNT MAGNETOS WINGLESS SERIES- Joe Hunt Magnetos’ Roger Gleeson brought the traveling concept to non-wing sprint cars by popular demand in 2010. Over the years, the Joe Hunt Magnetos Sprint Car Series has ran a limited schedule at select tracks around the state. After running under the leadership of Prentice Motorsports Group and Glad Enterprises from 2016-2018, 2019 saw Gleeson come back aboard. 2021 the series will be in action on 13 occasions as they visit five different Northern California venues.

bottom of page