Croft Claims Calistoga Lore During Civil War Series pres. by Flowmaster Finale as Cole Macedo Clinch


(PETERSEN MEDIA- Calistoga, CA, )- Saturday night at Calistoga Speedway, 18-year-old Cole Macedo became the 13th different driver to claim a Civil War Series pres. by Flowmaster Series Championship when the green flag flew. With the finale still up for grabs though, Macedo would end up finishing second to Willie Croft who put on an absolute clinic en route to his first series win of the season.

With Croft and Macedo on the front row of the feature event, it would be a drag race into turn one on the slick ½ mile speedway with Croft getting the early nod. While Macedo was able to cross under Croft in turns one and two, the veteran wheel man would get the best of the freshly minted champion as he quickly opened up a sizeable lead.

Out front, Croft would continue to open his lead up lap after lap as Macedo ran in second with Dustin Freitas, and Colby Johnson fighting it out for the final position on the podium.

Getting into traffic, Croft would not be phased as he would be in cruise control out front working his way around the scenic ½ mile speedway. With Macedo continuing to run in second, and Freitas in third, Johnson would have to bow out of the race moving Tucker Worth up into the fourth spot.

When the 20 lapper came to an end, Croft would cap of an impressive night by claiming the win, and the checkered would waive at the right time as he would see his left rear go down as he slowed up getting into turn one on his cool down lap.

Macedo would settle for second and the title, as Freitas capped off a very impressive season for himself with a third place finish and second in the final series standings. Worth would finish fourth, and Calistoga’s own Mike Benson would round out the Top-Five.

Saturday night at Calistoga Speedway, Rico Abreu would kick the action off by setting fast time in qualifications, with Croft and Abreu winning heat races. Cole Macedo would win the Dash and lead the field to green as the pole sitter.

ON TAP: the 2018 season has come to a close.

2018 WINNERS: Justin Sanders (March 24th Marysville Raceway), Bud Kaeding (April 21st Thunderbowl Racew