top of page

Daniel Whitley Wires Hunt Series Field at Merced Speedway

(PETERSEN MEDIA-Merced, CA)- Saturday night at Merced Speedway, Daniel Whitley wired the field as he picked up his first win of the season with the series and took home $2,000 for his efforts thanks to a $500 bonus from Merced Speedway GM Doug Lockwood in honor of the late Moose Lacey.

With 26 cars on hand on Saturday night for the series’ third event of the season, Whitley led the field to green, and quickly jumped out to the top spot.

Working the high banked bullring to perfection, Whitley set a torrid pace, though would be challenge for the top spot briefly by Mark Hanson just before the race’s halfway point.

As Whitley was able to negate Hanson’s advances and retain the top spot, behind him Shawn Arriaga and former series Champion, Shawn Jones, were moving their ways forward through the field.

Back up front, Whitley would take the checkered flag first as he picked up the win over Arriaga, Jones, Jake Morgan, and Hanson rounding out the Top-Five.

Arriaga got the night started off by earning Dependable Crane Fast Time Honors with a lap of 13.723 seconds. Marcus Hardina won Benic Enterprises Heat Race No.1, Hanson won Brown and Miller Heat No. 2, Heath Holdsclaw won King Racing Products Heat Race No. 3, and Nathan Schank pick up the win during Santomauro Racing Products Heat No. 4.

Ka’imi Costa took home the Matt Streeter Racing Hard Luck Award, as Eathon Lanfri finished 15th and earned the BR Motorsports P15 Award. Trey Walter took home the Best Presenting Feature Car presented by Arbo Tech, while Evan Gularte went from 5th to first in the ‘B’ to earn the Vahlco Wheels Cool Move of the Night.


  1. Daniel Whitley #3T

  2. Shawn Arriaga #32

  3. Shawn Jones #14

  4. Jake Morgan #7M

  5. Mark Hanson #79

  6. Marcus Hardina #21X

  7. Nick Robfogel #3

  8. Josh Young #7EJ

  9. Brent Steck #2STX

  10. Trey Walters #7

  11. Jarrett Soares #12

  12. Jimmy Christian #32C

  13. Heath Holdsclaw #33

  14. Nick Purdy #3P

  15. Eathon Lanfri #31P

  16. George Nielson #23

  17. Evan Gularte #17M

  18. Nathan Schank #1S

  19. Eric Hopkins #51

  20. Ka'imi Moniz-Costa #5

ON TAP: The Hunt Series gets right back to work this Saturday night with their first appearance of the year at Stockton Dirt Track. If you can’t make it out, the event will be streamed LIVe on FloRacing.

WINNERS: Bradley Terrell (March 26th Petaluma Speedway), Jake Morgan (April 2nd Placerville Speedway), Daniel Whitley (May 21st Merced Speedway).

STAY CONNECTED: Stay up to speed with the series by liking us at or clicking over to the new

JOE HUNT MAGNETOS WINGLESS SERIES- Joe Hunt Magnetos’ Roger Gleeson brought the traveling concept to non-wing sprint cars by popular demand in 2010. Over the years, the Joe Hunt Magnetos Sprint Car Series has ran a limited schedule at select tracks around the state. After running under the leadership of Prentice Motorsports Group and Glad Enterprises from 2016-2018, 2019 saw Gleeson come back aboard. 2022 the series will be in action on 12 occasions as they visit five different Northern California venues.

bottom of page