top of page

Dominic Scelzi Makes Triumphant Return to Ocean Speedway as He Scores Season Ending Victory with Bra


(PETERSEN MEDIA- Watsonville, CA)- After sitting out nearly the entire month of September due to injury, Dominic Scelzi has shown now sings of rust in his return to racing as he was able to pocket his second career Ocean Sprints pres. by Taco Bravo feature event win in just his second weekend back in action.

Friday night marked the season finale at Ocean Speedway, and when the final green flag of the season dropped, it was local favorite Kurt Nelson getting out to the early lead with Brad Furr and Jeremy Chisum giving chase.

As the leaders got into traffic early, Furr would begin the reel in Nelson and take over the race lead on the 11th circuit as Nelson drifted high in turns three and four. Losing the lead, Nelson would also lose second and Dominic Scelzi was also able to get by to take over the position.

Sceliz wasn’t done yet as he would have a full head of steam getting into turns one and two and it would allow him to slide up in front of Furr and take command of the race on the 12th circuit.

Lap 15 saw the race’s first caution flag displayed and Scelzi would lead the field back to green as he led over Furr, Sanders, Kurt Nelson, and Kyle Offill. Scelzi would continue to look strong out front as he would pull away from the field leaving the race for the second as the best battle on the track.

Lap 26 would see Sanders finally get by Furr to move into second as many kept their eyes on the No. 17 entry as he has a flare for the late race pass.

A lap 26 restart gave Sanders an opportunity to get by Scelzi but Scelzi’s momentum up top kept him out front and allowed to him leave the field in his wake as he scored the win during the final feature of the season with Sanders finishing second followed by Furr, Bud Kaeding, and Kurt Nelson rounding out the Top-Five.

With the waiving of the checkered flag, Brad Furr was offically crowned the 2018 Ocean Sprints pres. by Taco Bravo Champion for the third time in his career.

The night kicked off with Furr earning Ray Scheidts Electric Quick Time honros, with heat wins going to Kurt Nelson, Jeremy Chisum and Tucker Worth, as Chisum also won the Dash.

Gary Nelson, Jr was involved in a hard wreck during heat race action and it actually left him a little banged up as he sat out for the feature event and James Ringo climbed aboard the Keller Motorsports entry. For this, Nelson was the final Beer Optics Hard Luck recipient of the 2018 season.

Gaining nine positions in the feautre event and finishing fourth Bud Kaeding was the High-5 Pizza Hard Charger.

2018 Winners- Justin Sanders (March 30th), Bud Kaeding (April 13th), Justin Sanders (April 27th), Brad Furr (May 4th), Bud Kaeding (May 11th), Koen Shaw (June 15th), Justin Sanders (July 6th), Brad Furr (July 13th), Tanner Thorson (July 20th) Justin Sanders (July 27th), Brad Furr (August 10th), Brad Furr (August 17th), Bud Kaeding (September 21), Dominic Scelzi (October 5th).

ON TAP- The 2018 season has come to a close and the only thing left is to crown champions. The Night of Champions banquet for Ocean Speedway will take place on December 15th at the Seascape Gold Club in Aptos, CA.

STAY CONNECTED- Stay up to speed with all things Ocean Speedway by visiting the website at, by following us on Twitter @Ocean_Speedway, or by liking us on Facebook at

Ocean Speedway is located at 2601 E. Lake Ave Watsonville, CA 95076.

PETERSEN MEDIA: Petersen Media is a promotional agency that can handle your public relations, marketing, and any other promotional needs. Petersen Media utilizes multiple tactics to help you reach your intended audience, and boost awareness.




bottom of page