Hirst Hustles To Civil War Series presented by Flowmaster Win During Sixth Annual Howard Kaeding Cla


(PETERSEN MEDIA- Aptos, CA)- Climbing aboard the Josh Ford Motorsports No. 73 machine on Friday night, Kyle Hirst would fend off both Brent and Bud Kaeding as he picked up his first Civil War Series presented by Flowmaster feature event win during Friday night’s Howard Kaeding Classic at the Ocean Speedway.

Staring on the front row of the feature event, Hirst was hard on the throttle as he beat fellow front row starter, Jerry Bonnema into turn one.  Setting a nice pace for the first six circuits of the race, Hirst would have his hands full on a lap seven restart.

When the action resumed, Hirst found himself in a dogfight with Hall of Famer, Brent Kaeding. As the duo exchanged the top spot and raced wheel to wheel, Bud Kaeding would soon enter the fray until the caution flag flew on the 14th lap.

The racing would briefly resume for one lap before a wreck involving both Tyler Walker and DJ Freitas forced the red flag to fly, and would ultimately be the final stoppage of the race.

Back underway, Bud Kaeding would now take his shot at the top spot in a the race honoring his grandfather, but Hirst was having none of it, as he continued to fend off the challenges and lead the way.

With Hirst breaking away from the pack, action behind him got exciting as Brent and Bud Kaeding fought for the second spot, as Chase Johnson, Steven Tiner, and Ryan Bernal worked their way forward.

Bernal would make a late move to get by BK for the third spot, and both Tiner and Johnson would work well into the Top-10 after staring 15th and 19th.

Up front, Hirst was on cruise control as he picked up the win, giving the JFM team their first ever winged sprint car win.

“I really have to thank Jimmy May and his JFM team for giving me the chance to come out here and have some fun on a Friday night,” Kyle Hirst said. “They are a great group to race with, and I am happy to give them a win with a wing bolted on their car.”

Bud Kaeding would finish second, while Bernal would finish in the third spot after taking the green flag from 10th. Justin Sanders would finish fourth, Brent Kaeding fifth, Steven Tiner sixth, Andy Forsberg seventh, Chase Johnson eighth, Mason Moore ninth, and Bradley Terrell would round out the Top-10.

Friday night at the Ocean Speedway, a total of 37 cars would check into the pit area to take part in the Howard Kaeding Classic. During time trials, it was Tyler Walker earning quick time honors to start the night off.