top of page

Jake Morgan Scores Second Hunt Series Win of Season with Stockton Triumph

(PETERSEN MEDIA-Stockton, CA)- Jake Morgan became the first repeat winner with Wingless Series presented by Joe Hunt Magnetos of the season as he out dueled Geoff Ensign on Saturday night at the Stockton Dirt Track.

Getting the jump when the action came to life, opening night winner, Jake Morgan would work the low side of the speedway, as much of the field followed suit.

Morgan would be very stout on this night, though would be challenged a few times for the top spot by Geoff Ensign. While Ensign would make a bid for the lead, it would be all for not as a caution would negate his progress.

While Morgan continued to lead the way, Ensign would find himself in a entertaining battle with Shane Hopkins for the second position. Once Ensign was able to fend off Hopkins, he would track Morgan back down and make things interesting coming to the finish.

When the dust settled, it was Morgan grabbing the win over Ensign, with Hopkins rounding out the podium, as Jacob Tuttle and Daniel Whitely rounded out the Top-5.

Geoff Ensign would get the night kicked off by earning Ashely Van Den Berg Home Loans Fast Time Honors.

Ensign would also win Benic Enterprises Heat No. 1 in thrilling fashion, as Hopkins won Brown and Miller Heat No. 2, and Cody Fendley took top honors in King Racing Products Heat Race No. 3.

Cameron Martin would earn Santomauro Racing Products Hard Charger Honors after finishing seventh, and Nathan Schank earned the BR Motorsports P15 award.

Merced Speedway feature event winner, Bradley Terrell, was the TDS Hard Luck Award recipient.

A Main -

1. Jake Morgan #17

2. Geoff Ensign #3F

3. Shane Hopkins #51

4. Jacob Tuttle #3T

5. Daniel Whitley #6K

6. Bob Newberry #36

7. Cameron Martin #11

8. Tim Sherman Jr. #1JR

9. Sparky Howard #6

10.Tony Bernard #50

11.Cody Fendley #9

12.Kevin Box #2

13.Heath Holdsclaw #33

14.Brent Steck #2STX

15.Nathan Schank #1

16.Jarrett Soares #12

17.Shawn Jones #14

18.Scott Clough #60

ON TAP: The next race for the series will be July 3rd back at Stockton Dirt Track.

WINNERS: Jake Morgan (April 3rd Placerville Speedway), Shawn Jones (April 17th Petaluma Speedway), Bradley Terrell (May 15th Merced Speedway), Jake Morgan (May 22nd Stockton Dirt Track)

STAY CONNECTED: Stay up to speed with the series by liking us at clicking over to the new

JOE HUNT MAGNETOS WINGLESS SERIES- Joe Hunt Magnetos’ Roger Gleeson brought the traveling concept to non-wing sprint cars by popular demand in 2010. Over the years, the Joe Hunt Magnetos Sprint Car Series has ran a limited schedule at select tracks around the state. After running under the leadership of Prentice Motorsports Group and Glad Enterprises from 2016-2018, 2019 saw Gleeson come back aboard. 2021 the series will be in action on 13 occasions as they visit five different Northern California venues.

bottom of page