top of page

Jason Meyers Dominates Civil War Season Finale in Stockton, CA While Andy Forsberg Clinches Ninth Ca


(PETERSEN MEDIA- Stockton, CA)- On an absolutely beautiful November afternoon in Stockton, CA on Saturday where a total of 79 winged Sprint Cars checked into the pit area for the combined Prentice Motorsports Group season finale, two-time World of Outlaws Champion, Jason Meyers, made a rare series start and simply dominated the 30-lap feature event to grab his first career Civil War Series presented by Flowmaster feature event win.

“We don’t get to do this nearly enough, but I have to thank H.P. Myatt and these guys for giving me a great racecar,” Jason Meyers said to an overflow crowd. “These guys are the best of the best and it is fun to come out and race with them, and to grab the win is just awesome.”

Though Meyers was able to dominate the feature event, Andy Forsberg also took care of business on Saturday night, as his fifth place finish was good enough to give him his ninth career Civil War Series presented by Flowmaster Championship.

“It is very cool to come out here and get another Civil War Series Championship,” Andy Forsberg said. “This C&M Motorsports car was a blast to drive all year and this is a great

way to end our season.”

With 49 of the 79 cars competing with the Civil War Series, it would be a pair or notable names leading the field to green as Rico Abreu and Jason Meyers made up the front row.

On the extremely slick track conditions, Abreu would get off to the early lead with Meyers falling suit as Sean Becker, Andy Forsberg, and DJ Netto gave chase. The opening laps would click off quickly until the race’s only stoppages came on lap six and seven.

Back underway; Abreu would continue to lead the way though as he approached traffic, Meyers would close in. On the 16th lap, the crowd would come to their feet as Meyers and Abreu race side-by-side with Meyers able to get the advantage and assume the race lead.

As Meyers got away, Abreu still had his hands full as Sean Becker would soon overtake him for the second spot.

On the slick and abrassvie newly configured Stockton Dirt Track, Meyers would waste no time opening a sizeable lead, as Becker continued to run in his wake until mechanical issues would force him into the infield.

Still green on the speedway, the best battles on the track would be for second through fifth as those drivers continued to fight in traffic. Late in the event, DJ Netto was able to overtake Abreu for the second spot, and Dominic Scelzi would pick up a couple of positions as he moved into fourth on the 28th circuit.

Up front though, it was all Jason Meyers as he was able to score the win by an impressive 8.231 seconds over DJ Netto, Abreu, Scelzi, and Forsberg. Finishing sixth was Shane Golobic, seventh Cory Eliason, eight, Justin Sanders, ninth, Roger Crocket, and 10th was the nights Hard Charger, Gio Scelzi. With his charge from 18th, Scelzi took home a seat of seat belts courtesy Chris Kenner of Security Race Products.

With 49 cars attempting to qualify at Stockton Dirt Track, the series would use a split-qualifying format though Sean Becker would be the overall fastest qualifier and establish a new 360ci track record with a lap of 15.088 seconds.

A four-heat race program was in play on Saturday night and wins would go to Becker, Dominic Scelzi, Rico Abreu, and Andy Forsberg.

In preliminary mains Cody Hodgson would win the C Main and move to the B Main along with Eric Humphries. Oregon driver, Roger Crocket, would win the B Main and would move to the feature along with Shane Golobic, Kenny Allen, Geoff Ensign, Greg DeCaires, and Justyn Cox.

An entertaining Civil War Series presented by Flowmaster dash would be would won by Rico Abreu, which gave him the right the start on the pole for the 30-lap feature event.

ON TAP: The Civil War Series presented by Flowmaster has wrapped up its 2016 campaign and the last piece of business for the season is the Night of Champions that is scheduled for November 19th. For more information click over to

WINNERS: Willie Croft (March 25th, Silver Dollar Speedway), Andy Forsberg (May 28th, Marysville Raceway), Cory Eliason (May 29th, Silver Dollar Speedway), Steven Tiner (June 11th, Placerville Speedway), Sean Becker (June 18th, Petaluma Speedway), Kyle Hirst (July 15th Ocean Speedway), Sean Becker (August 6th Placerville Speedway), Justin Sanders (August 20th Ocean Speedway), Mitchell Faccinto (September 7th Silver Dollar Speedway), Sean Becker (September 17th Marysville Raceway), Sean Becker (September 24th Petaluma Speedway), Jason Meyers (November 5th Stockton Dirt Track).

STAY CONNECTED: Keep up with the Civil War Series Presented By Flowmaster, and find complete results and point standings by clicking over to, ‘Liking’, or following us on twitter at For more information on Flowmaster, please visit

CIVIL WAR SERIES PRESENTED BY FLOWMASTER- Founded in 1991 as the North-South Series, the Civil War Sprint Car Series was born in 1993 giving 360ci Sprint Cars in California a sanctioning body. What started as just a handful of races at three different tracks has evolved into quite the series. In 2016, the Civil War Sprint Car Series will host 12 events at 6 different tracks around California.




bottom of page