top of page

Joe Hunt Magentos Back On Board With Wingless Series; Season Kicks Off March 5th

WSS Logo

(PETERSEN MEDIA- Aptos, CA)- As the 2016 season opener approaches, the Prentice Motorsports Group is pleased to announce that Joe Hunt Magnetos will once again be on board as the title sponsor for the Wingless Series Presented by Joe Hunt Magentos for the 11 race season.

“We are extremely pleased to have Joe Hunt Magnetos back on board with us for the 2016 season,” John Prentice, President of the Prentice Motorsports Group said. “We had a great first season together in 2015, and I am really excited for the season to get underway at the Silver Dollar Speedway on March 5th.”

Embarking on it’s second season under the leadership of the Prentice Motorsports Group, the Wingless Series presented by Joe Hunt Magnetos will again tour over the great state of California racing alongside either the King of the West Series or the Civil War Series in nearly every event.

2016 will mark the series’ seventh season in the Golden State and they can be seen in action from March through November at four of California’s marquee venues.

On the heels of a very competitive 2015 season that saw Gary Nelson, Jr score his first series championship, and the series have five different feature event winners, the 2016 season is shaping up to be another exciting one on the non-wing landscape.

2016 Schedule

March 5th– Silver Dollar Speedway (Silver Cup)

April 10th– Calistoga Speedway

May 21st– Stockton Dirt Track

June 11th– Petaluma Speedway

June 25th– Calistoga Speedway

July 16th– Ocean Speedway

August 13th– Petaluma Speedway (Soares Classic)

August 20th– Ocean Speedway (Johnny Key Classic)

September 7th– Silver Dollar Speedway (Gold Cup)

September 17th– Petaluma Speedway

November 4th– Stockton Dirt Track

ON TAP: The Wingless Series Presented by Joe Hunt Magnetos will open the 2016 season on March 5th at the Silver Dollar Speedway.

WINNERS: (2015) Joe Stornetta (Silver Dollar Speedway on March 7th), Colton Slack (Calistoga Speedway on April 12th), Joe Stornetta (Placerville Speedway on May 30th), Austin Liggett (Stockton Dirt Track on June 13th), Terry Schank, (Calistoga Speedway on June 27th), Klint Simpson (Ocean Speedway on July 11th), Terry Schank (Petaluma Speedway on July 18th), Terry Schank (Stockton Dirt Track on August 1st), Terry Schank (Petaluma Speedway on August 8th), Klint Simpson (Ocean Speedway on August 29th) Austin Ligget (Silver Dollar Speedway on September 9th).

STAY CONNECTED: Stay connected with the series by clicking over to

JOE HUNT MAGNETOS SPRINT CAR SERIES- Joe Hunt Magnetos’ Roger Gleason brought the traveling concept to non-wing sprint cars by popular demand in 2010. Over the years, the Joe Hunt Magnetos Sprint Car Series has ran a limited schedule at select tracks around the state. In 2016, the series will again operate under the direction of the Prentice Motorsports Group competing in 11 races scattered at five different tracks.

bottom of page