top of page

Joey Saldana Cashes In at Dirt Classic Ohio


(PETERSEN MEDIA)- Biding his time through much of Saturday night’s Dirt Classic Ohio feature event, Joey Saldana took advantage of a late restart to score the win and the $10,000 payday aboard the Indy Race Parts No. 71 machine, marking his 73rd career score with the Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions.

Cole Duncan and Saldana would lead the field green and it would be Duncan who got the early advantage over the eventual race winner. Duncan was strong out front as he surged ahead of the pack finding traffic on the seventh lap.

Working through the back of the pack at a quick pace, an early caution flag would give him clear track, but would also erase a sizeable lead that he had opened up.

With stoppages slowing a pair of restart attempts, Duncan would mash the throttle again when the race finally resumed as Saldana and Cap Henry gave chase.

Out front it would continue to be all about Cole Duncan, though back in the field Tim Shaffer, and Chris Andrews were working their way toward the Top-10 from the 20th and 22nd starting positions respectively.

Following a lap 15 red flag, the battle up front would get interesting on the restart as Saldana would slide up in front of Duncan on back to back laps to take the lead briefly, but on both occasions the challenge would be countered and Saldana would continue to run second.

As the race continued on, Duncan continued to look strong out front, as some of the best action on the track would come from Andrews and Shaffer who continued to race from the tail end of the field, as well as from Byron Reed and Chad Kemenah who were also mounting charges of their own.

A lap 34 restart would see Saldana again take a shot at Duncan for the top spot, but again Duncan would continue to keep the Indiana driver at bay. The race’s final caution flag flew on the 37th lap, and on this restart Saldana’s relentless efforts would pay off as he was able to take the race lead and race his way to the win with Duncan settling for second, and Henry taking the final spot on the podium.

Travis Philo would finish fourth, Chris Andrews fifth, Tim Shaffer sixth, Sammy Swindell eighth, Chad Kemenah ninth, and DJ Foos rounded out the Top-10.

Saturday night a total of 49 cars would check in for Dirt Classic Ohio, and DJ Foos would be the fastest driver in qualifying time trials.

Running the Dirt Classic format, a total of 10-heat races were ran on this night with wins going to DJ Foos, Caleb Helms, Tyler Esh, Sammy Swindell, Joey Saldana, Jordan Ryan, Stuart Brubaker, Andrew Pelker, Justin Peck, and Ryan Smith.

Dan McCarron would win the ‘C’ main, and Arctic All Star Circuit of Champion points leader, Chad Kemenah won the ‘B’.

2017 WINNERS- Dominic Scelzi (Dirt Classic California 360ci), DJ Netto (Dirt Classic California 410ci), Shane Stewart (Front Row Challenge), Joey Saldana (Dirt Classic Ohio)

ON TAP- The final Dirt Classic event of the season is rapidly approaching as Dirt Classic 4 presented by Schmuck Lumber is heading to Lincoln Speedway in Pennsylvania on September 23rd.

STAY CONNECTED- Stay updated with all things Dirt Classic by clicking over to, Liking, or following @dirtclassic on Twitter.

JOIN THE TEAM- The ever-growing Dirt Classic is always looking to bring on new marketing partners. If you are interested in becoming a part of any future events please email, or contact Jarrod Adams at 704- 996-4243.

PETERSEN MEDIA: Petersen Media is a promotional agency that can handle your  public relations, marketing, and any other promotional needs. For more information visit,  email, or follow @Petersen_Media on twitter.




bottom of page