top of page

Justin Sanders Back in Victory Lane with Ocean Sprints Pres. by Taco Bravo


(PETERSEN MEDIA- Watsonville, CA)- Being in the right place at the right time on Friday night at Ocean Speedway, Justin Sanders was able to pounce and pick up his second Ocean Sprints pres. by Taco Bravo win of the 2017 season.

Cole Macedo and Cory Eliason would lead the field to green, but Macedo would be called for a jump on the race’s initial start and it would move Brad Furr up to the front row.

When the racing got underway, it was Furr getting out to the early lead with Macedo, Eliason, Kyle Offill, and Geoff Ensign giving chase. On the fourth circuit, Eliason would power by Macedo to take over the second spot as Ensign would get by Macedo for third.

The race would move along at a nice pace until Macedo came to a stop on the eighth circuit with a flat left rear.

Back underway, Furr was able to continue to lead the way but he would feel pressure from Eliason as the field quickly got into lapped traffic. With Justin Sanders moving into the fourth spot he would begin pressuring Ensign for third until able to finally get back.

On the 16th circuit, Furr would bobble ever so slightly in turns one and two, and it would give Eliason the opening he was looking for to grab the top spot with the caution coming out ½ lap later.

Leading the field back to green, Eliason would get a nice jump over Sanders, who had over taken Furr for the second spot, Furr, Ensign and Matthew Moles.

Eliason was very strong through lapped traffic, and looked to be on his way to his third series win of the season until one final caution flew on the 27th circuit.

With Eliason leading the way over Sanders, Furr, Moles and Ensign, he would jump out again to a nice lead as he left the rest of the leaders in his wake. Taking the white flag, Eliason would have big trouble entering turn one as his car would come to a stop.

Sanders would be in the right place at the right time as he would lead the final ¾ of a lap to pick up his second win of the season over Furr, Moles, Jerry Bonnema, and Ensign.

Cole Macedo would march back forward after his flat to finish sixth, Jeremy Chisum, Dustin Golobic, Koen Shaw, and Kurt Nelson would round out the Top-10.

A total of 20 cars entered Friday night’s event and it was Eliason setting the standard in time trials with a lap of 11.630 seconds. An immaculately prepared Ocean Speedway would see 12 of the 19 drivers that ended up taking a time turn in a lap in the 11 second bracket.

Heat wins would go to Collin Markle, Kyle Offill and Kurt Nelson, and Cole Macedo would win the Dash.

ON TAP- While action will continue at Ocean Speedway on Friday night, the Ocean Sprints pres. by Taco Bravo will be on hiatus until Friday June 16th.

STAY CONNECTED- Stay up to speed with all things Ocean Speedway by visiting the website at, by following us on Twitter @Ocean_Speedway, or by liking us on Facebook at

Ocean Speedway is located at 2601 E. Lake Ave Watsonville, CA 95076.

PETERSEN MEDIA: Petersen Media is a promotional agency that can handle your public relations, marketing, and any other promotional needs. Petersen Media utilizes multiple tactics to help you reach your intended audience, and boost awareness.




bottom of page