top of page

Justin Sanders Outduels Tanner Thorson For Second Ocean Sprints pres. by Taco Bravo Win of the 2018


(PETERSEN MEDIA- Watsonville, CA)- Friday night at Ocean Speedway fans were treated to another thriller as local product, Justin Sanders, made an electrifying move on Tanner Thorson on the final lap to score his second Ocean Sprints presented by Taco Bravo win of the 2018 season.

When the race came to life, Lincoln, CA driver, Tanner Carrick would get the slight edge over Tommy Tarlton to lead the first lap, and then chaos would ensue. Heading into turn three the next time around, Tartlon would get out of shape and tip over getting into turn three and behind him Brad Furr would get sideways out of turn two and get upside down collecting Kurt Nelson, Josh Chisum and Wayne Katen.

The wild ordeal would bring all those drivers nights to an abrupt end.

Back underway, Carrick would lead the way as Tanner Thorson, Shane Golobic, Billy Aton, Justin Sanders, Matthew Moles all followed suit. On the extremely slick Ocean Speedway surface, Carrick would continue to lead the way until he lost the handle and did a 360 on the race’s fifth lap.

Relegated to the back of the pack, Carrick would restart but all eyes would now be on Tanner Thorson who took over the top spot.

The ensuing restart would see Golobic’s machine start hopping in turns three and four and he would become a roll over victim and Bud Kaeding would get collected in the incident. While Golobic’s night would come to an end, Kaeding would try to restart but he would too would pull back ot his pit area.

When the racing resumed, Thorson would continue to lead the way but behind him Justin Sanders would jump into the second position and the race for the lead would heat up.

Thorson continued to lead the way until another stoppage came on the race’s 10th lap. As green flag action resumed, Thorson would continue to pace the field but things would heat up behind him as Sanders continued to run second, Moles was able to move into third, and Sean Becker would find himself in fifth.

During an extended green flag run, Thorson would continue to keep the field at bay though Sanders would close in as they reached traffic, and a surging Dominic Scelzi would make his way up into third as he looked to make it a three-headed battle for the race lead.

Amidst heavy traffic, Sanders would make a bid for the race lead but his effort would not stick as Thorson was able to counter and retain the top spot.

A pait of cautions on lap 20 and lap 25 would set up a very dramatic finish.

The race’s final restart saw Thorson lead Sanders, Scelzi, Kyle Hirst, and Sean Becker back to green as Sanders hung right with the leader.

With the white flag in the air, the two front runners would run the high side through turns one and two as the crowd came to their feet for what was another exciting finish.

Thorson stayed committed to the top in turns three and four, and Sanders would dip low and drive deep into the corner as he looked to make something happen. As the duo touched, Sanders would hold the advantage and beat Thorson to the line to grab the win as Thorson would finish second and Dominic Scelzi, Kyle Hirst, and Sean Becker would round out the Top-Five.

Cole Macedo finished sixth as Matthew Moles, Jason Chisum, Cody Lamar, and Koen Shaw rounded out the Top-10.

Friday night kicked off with Tanner Thorson earning Ray Scheidts Electric quick time honors aboard the famed Tri-C Motorsports No. 3c with a lap of 11.643 seconds. Heat race winners would be Billy Aton, Tommy Tarlton, and Cole Macedo.

Tarlton would also go on to win the Dash and earn the pole for the feature event, while Cody Lamar would win the night’s ‘B’ Main.

Jason Chisum would take home Hight Five Pizza Hard Charger honors after gaining 12 poisitons in the feature event, and Josh Chisum would be the recipent of the Beer Optics Hard Luck Award.

2018 Winners- Justin Sanders (March 30th), Bud Kaeding (April 13th), Justin Sanders (April 27th).

ON TAP- The Ocean Sprints pres. by Taco Bravo will be back in action on Friday night at Ocean Speedway.

STAY CONNECTED- Stay up to speed with all things Ocean Speedway by visiting the website at, by following us on Twitter @Ocean_Speedway, or by liking us on Facebook at

Ocean Speedway is located at 2601 E. Lake Ave Watsonville, CA 95076.

PETERSEN MEDIA: Petersen Media is a promotional agency that can handle your public relations, marketing, and any other promotional needs. Petersen Media utilizes multiple tactics to help you reach your intended audience, and boost awareness.

For more information contact, by phone at 916-342-3424,visit,, or follow


#Motorsports #racepmg #PR #petersenmedia #Info #Media #PressRelease #JustinSanders #Racing #OceanSprints #SprintCar #News

bottom of page