top of page

Koen Shaw Cashes In To Score First Ocean Sprints pres. by Taco Bravo Feature Event Win


(PETERSEN MEDIA- Watsonville, CA)- After an extended break, the Ocean Sprints pres. by Taco Bravo roared back to life on Friday night at Ocean Speedway where Fresno, CA driver, Koen Shaw was able to break through and score his first career series win.

Starting on the front row alongside Tommy Tarlton, Shaw would get the early jump and lead the opening lap before the action would be brought to a halt. The ensuing restart would see DJ Netto snatch the top spot from Shaw but a caution on the restart would negate his pass and put Shaw back at the point.

The next attempt at the restart would see Shaw fend off Netto in turns one and two, but the hard charger from Hanford, CA would build his momentum up and pull alongside Shaw as the field exited turn four before pulling ahead as the field worked through turn two on the third lap.

With Netto now out front he would begin pulling away from the field as Justin Sanders would then get by Shaw to overtake second on the fourth lap before the yellow was again displayed on lap number seven.

With Netto out front with Sanders, Shaw, Kyle Offill and Tommy Tarlton chasing after him, he would set a good pace on the racy ¼ mile as he would soon find the back of th field with the race now in an extended green flag run.

Getting held up a bit as the traffic intensified, Netto would feel pressure from Sanders as the duo began waging war on eachother with 10-laps to go in the race.

Amidst dense traffic, Sanders would sneak under Netto to grab the lead on the 22nd circuit and as the duo continued to battle for the top spot contact on lap 23 would bring both front runners night to an end and put Koen Shaw back up front.

When the race resumed, Shaw would pull away from the field as the battle for second intensified between Kyle Offill and Ryan Bernal who was filling in for Shane Golobic aboard the Keith Day Trucking backed No. 22 machine. Bernal would get the better of Offill as he would hang to to the second position as Offill settled for third on this night.

Up front however, it was all Koen Shaw who was able to hang on and pick up his first Ocean Sprnts pres. by Taco Bravo feature event victory.

Chasing him across the stripe would be Ryan Bernal, Kyle Offill, Tommy Tarlton, and Cole Macedo.

Prelimianry action would see DJ Netto and Cole Macedo each pick up Heat Race wins with Tommy Tarlton winning the Dash and earning the right to start on the pole. Koen Shaw kicked his night off just as he finished it as he earned the Ray Schedits Electric Quick Time Award.

Chris Nelson was an early roll over victim and was awarded the Beer Optics Hard Luck Award and and the High Five Pizza Hard Charger was Richard Fajardo.

2018 Winners- Justin Sanders (March 30th), Bud Kaeding (April 13th), Justin Sanders (April 27th), Brad Furr (May 4th), Bud Kaeding (May 11th), Koen Shaw (June 15th).

ON TAP- The Ocean Sprints pres. by Taco Bravo step aside this weekend as the King of the West Series invades Ocean Speedway on Friday night. With the track being dark on June 29th, the series will resume action on July 6th.

STAY CONNECTED- Stay up to speed with all things Ocean Speedway by visiting the website at, by following us on Twitter @Ocean_Speedway, or by liking us on Facebook at

Ocean Speedway is located at 2601 E. Lake Ave Watsonville, CA 95076.

PETERSEN MEDIA: Petersen Media is a promotional agency that can handle your public relations, marketing, and any other promotional needs. Petersen Media utilizes multiple tactics to help you reach your intended audience, and boost awareness.




bottom of page