top of page

Michael Kofoid Scores Again at Civil War Series pres. By Flowmaster Season Finale

Andy Forsberg Claims 10th Career Series Championship 


(PETERSEN MEDIA- Chico, CA, )- Wednesday night in Chico, CA, Michael Kofoid backed up his Johnny Key Classic win by scoring top honors during the Civil War Series Pres. By Flomaster’s 2017 season finale event that opened up the 64th Annual Gold Cup Race of Champions. While Kofoid enjoyed victory lane, Andy Forsberg would officially be crowned the series champion for the 10th time in his career.

While he was credited with leading all 30 laps on Wednesday night, Kofoid would be tested on numerous restarts by some of the state’s top talent, though he never blinked and picked off his second career series win.

Leading the field to green alongside Mitchell Faccinto, Kofoid was extremely strong on the Silver Dollar Speedway ¼ mile. With pre feature event track prep creating a quick surface in the early goings of the race, Kofoid opened up a sizeable lead during an 18-lap green flag run.

Following the race’s first stoppage, second running Mitchell Faccinto would come to a stop on the back stretch on the ensuing restart, and Willie Croft would move into the second position and offer Kofoid his first test.

When the green flag waived, Croft would make a bid for the lead and pass Kofoid, but the Penngrove, CA youngster would have none of it as he countered only to see Shane Golobic and Bud Kaeding enter the picture and take their own shot at the race lead.

A very entertaining three laps would bring the crowd to their feet until the caution was again needed on lap 21 as Willie Croft would endure a part failure that forced him to slide through the infield. 


The next restart would see Bud Kaeding make a big move from third spot to overtake the race lead, but as fate would have it the caution would waive immediately and negate his efforts.

Following one final caution on lap 24, both Golobic and Kaeding would each take shots at Kofoid initially, but the 15 –year-old standout would stay composed as he raced his way to score the exciting win.

Kaeding would hang on for second, as Golobic would finish third to round out the podium.

Sean Becker ran fourth followed by Cory Eliason, DJ Netto, Andy Forsberg, Justin Sanders, Micahel Ing, and Mitchell Faccinto would round out the Top-10.

Wednesday night would mark the conclusion of the 2017 Civil War Series pres. By Folwmaster schedule and following the race, Andy Forsberg was officially crowned the series champion for the 10th time in his career.

A total of 44 cars checked into the pit area for the finale, and it was Mitchell Faccinto kicking the night off with the fastest lap of the night in qualifying time trials.

Four heat races were ran to open the night up with Andy Forsberg, Michael Kofoid, Bud Kaeding, and DJ Netto each taking home victories.

Rowdy McClennon won the night’s C Main event, as Geoff Ensign won the ‘B’ and moved into the feature event along with Michael Ing, Kyle Hirst, Billy Wallace, Nathan Rolfe, and Chase Majdic.

ON TAP: The 2017 Civil War Series pres. By Flowmaster season has come to a close.

2017 WINNERS: Shane Golobic (March 11th Silver Dollar Speedway), Andy Forsberg (March 31st Silver Dollar Speedway), Andy Forsberg (May 27th Marysville Raceway), Kyle Hirst (May 28th Silver Dollar Speedway), Andy Forsberg (July 1st Marysville Raceway), Kyle Hirst (July 14th Ocean Speedway), Michael Kofoid (August 12th Ocean Speedway), Michael Kofoid (Sept. 6th Silver Dollar Speedway).

STAY CONNECTED: Keep up with the Civil War Series Presented By Flowmaster, and find complete results and point standings by clicking over to, ‘Liking’, or following us on twitter at For more information on Flowmaster, please visit

CIVIL WAR SERIES PRESENTED BY FLOWMASTER- Founded in 1991 as the North-South Series, the Civil War Sprint Car Series was born in 1993 giving 360ci Sprint Cars in California a sanctioning body. What started as just a handful of races at three different tracks has evolved into quite the series. In 2017, the Civil War Sprint Car Series will host 9 events at 4 different tracks around California.


bottom of page