top of page

Sean Jones Wins Season Finale at Stockton Dirt Track and Claim 2021 Hunt Series Championship

(PETERSEN MEDIA-Stockton, CA)- Friday night at the Stockton Dirt Track, Shawn Jones capped off a dominant 2021 season with the Hunt Series as he picked up his fifth win of the season with the series and claimed the 2021 series championship.

When Friday night’s season finale feature event came to life it was it was Bradley Terell jumping out to the early lead before Shane Hopkins was able to use a restart to power his way out front.

While Hopkins led the way and searched for his first win of the season, behind him the action was heating up as Jones chased after, and applied pressure on the slick racing surface.

With restarts keeping Hopkins for opening his lead back up, Jones was able to make the top work, and powered his way to the lead with just two laps to in the race.

Out front, Jones would go on to pick up the win over Hopkins who held on to second and Terrell hanging on for third, while DJ Johnson and Nick Robfogel rounded out the Top-5.

Friday night a total of 22 cars signed in for one final night of action with Jones opening the festivities up with Ashley Van Den Berg Home Loans Fast Time honors.

Terrell would go ton to win Benic Enterprises Heat 1, Cody Fendley won Brown and Miller Heat 2, and DJ Johnson won King Racing Products Heat 3.

Brent Steck was the Santomauro Racing Products Hard Charger, while Tony Bernard won the BR Motorsports P.15 award, and Antonio Aragon was the TDS Hard Luck recipient.


  1. Shawn Jones #14

  2. Shane Hopkins #51

  3. Bradley Terrell #11BT

  4. DJ Johnson #33

  5. Nick Robfogel #3

  6. Troy DeGaton #92Z

  7. Cody Fendley #9

  8. Josh Young #7EJ

  9. Trey Walters #7

  10. Jake Morgan #17

  11. Brent Steck #2STX

  12. Bob Newberry #36

  13. Josh Gillis #18

  14. Scott Clough #60

  15. Tony Bernard #50

  16. Rory McLaughlin #MR6

  17. Nathan Schank #1S

  18. Jarrett Soares #12

  19. Tim Sherman Jr. #87JR

  20. Antonio Aragon #X

ON TAP: With the season officially wrapped up, the next order of business for the series is the Championship awards banquet which is slated for January 15th, 2022 VFW West Sacramento Post 8762, 905 Drever Street, West Sacramento, CA 95691. Please be on the lookout for more details.

WINNERS: Jake Morgan (April 3rd Placerville Speedway), Shawn Jones (April 17th Petaluma Speedway), Bradley Terrell (May 15th Merced Speedway), Jake Morgan (May 22nd Stockton Dirt Track), Shawn Jones (July 3rd Stockton Dirt Track), Shawn Jones (July 17th Placerville Speedway), Shawn Jones (July 24th Merced Speedway), Cody Fendley (August 14th Placerville Speedway), Bradley Terrell (August 21st Petaluma Speedway), Shawn Jones (November 5thStockton Dirt Track).

STAY CONNECTED: Stay up to speed with the series by liking us at clicking over to the new

JOE HUNT MAGNETOS WINGLESS SERIES- Joe Hunt Magnetos’ Roger Gleeson brought the traveling concept to non-wing sprint cars by popular demand in 2010. Over the years, the Joe Hunt Magnetos Sprint Car Series has ran a limited schedule at select tracks around the state. After running under the leadership of Prentice Motorsports Group and Glad Enterprises from 2016-2018, 2019 saw Gleeson come back aboard. 2021 the series will be in action on 13 occasions as they visit five different Northern California venues.



bottom of page