top of page

Shawn Jones Scores at Antioch Speedway With Hunt Wingless Tour

(PETERSEN MEDIA-Antioch, CA)- Saturday night in Antioch, CA, it was former series Champion, Shawn Jones scoring the win as he powered his way to his second feature event win of the season.

Saturday night in Contra Costa County, a total of 28 cars checked in for action in what was the series’ penultimate event of the 2022 season.

Lining up on the front row of the 25-lap feature event, Jones was hard on the throttle as he jumped out to the early lead. Once out in front, Jones flexed his muscle on the bay area bullring as he looked very strong out front.

As Jones began to run away from the field, behind him Jake Morgan began to make his way forward from his third row starting position. Working into third on the seventh lap, Morgan took over the second position at the race’s halfway point as he was tasked with reeling in Jones.

Last week’s feature event winner, Shawn Arriaga, was hot on Morgan’s tail as he followed him forward and took over the final spot on the podium also at the race’s haflway point.

Up front though, it was all about Jones as he was able to keep the field at bay and secure the win over Morgan, Arriaga, Nick Larson, and Josh Young.

Arriaga opened the night up by earning Dependable Crane Fast Time Honors, as Jake Morgan won Benic Ent. Heat No. 1, Shane Hopkins won Brown and Miller Heat No. 2, Jones won King Racing Products Heat Race No. 3, and Brent Steck won Santomauro Heat Race No. 4.

Josh Young went from 15th to 5th in the feature and was the Santomauro Hard Charger, as Steve Maionchi was the Matt Streeter Racing Hard Luck Award recipient.

Trey Walters finished 15th in the A and took home the BR Motorsports P.15 bonus, as Dylan Newberry was awarded the Arbo Tec Best Presented Feature Event Car award.

Going from the B to 10th in the A, Evan Gularte earned the Vahlco Wheels Cool Move of the Night.

ON TAP: The Hunt Series will bring 2022 to a close on November 5th in Stockton, CA.

WINNERS: Bradley Terrell (March 26th Petaluma Speedway), Jake Morgan (April 2nd Placerville Speedway), Daniel Whitley (May 21st Merced Speedway), Daniel Whitley May 28th Stockton Dirt Track), DJ Johnson (June 18th Marysville Raceway), Jake Morgan (July 16th Placerville Speedway), Bradley Terrell (August 20th Petaluma Speedway) Jake Morgan (Sept. 3rd Placerville Speedway) Shane Hopkins (Sept. 4th Placerville Speedway), Shawn Jones (September 7thSilver Dollar Speedway), Shawn Arriaga (October 1st Petaluma Speedway), Shawn Jones (October 8th Antioch Speedway)

STAY CONNECTED: Stay up to speed with the series by liking us at or clicking over to the new

JOE HUNT MAGNETOS WINGLESS SERIES- Joe Hunt Magnetos’ Roger Gleeson brought the traveling concept to non-wing sprint cars by popular demand in 2010. Over the years, the Joe Hunt Magnetos Sprint Car Series has ran a limited schedule at select tracks around the state. After running under the leadership of Prentice Motorsports Group and Glad Enterprises from 2016-2018, 2019 saw Gleeson come back aboard. 2022 the series will be in action on 12 occasions as they visit five different Northern California venues.

bottom of page