top of page

Shawn Jones Scores Third Consecutive Hunt Series Win as He Tops Moose Lacy Memorial

(PETERSEN MEDIA-Merced, CA)- What started out as a subtle gesture to former series official Moose Lacey who passed away back on March 9th, quickly turned into a memorial race in his honor on what was his Birthday weekend, and with a ton of bonus money up for grabs, it was Shawn Jones picking up his third consecutive win with the Hunt Series as he claimed the Moose Lacy Memorial.

Paying homage to Lacy, a few great people got together to pay $700 to the seventh-place finishes during Saturday’s feature as an ode to his favorite Football player, John Elway. Once that announcement came down the pipeline, more people and companies came forward, including Doug Lockwood of Merced Speedway, and the race ended up paying $2000 to win and $250 to start.

With 23 cars making the trip to Merced Speedway, Jones continued his dominant 2021 campaign as he kickstarted his night by earning Ashley Van Den Berg Home Loans Fast Time honors.

Jones would ultimately find himself on the pole for the 25-lap feature event and that would prove to be all he needed on this night. Able to leave the field in his wake on a very slick racing surface, Jones would feel pressure from Bradley Terrell at times.

As the slick surface would start to take rubber, Jones would continue to look extremely strong out front with Terrell, and Daniel Whitley in his wake.

When the checkered flag was displayed to the field, it was Jones picking up his fourth overall win of the season, and third consecutive, with Terrell crossing the stripe in second, and Whitley in third.

During post-race tech, Bradley Terrell’s mount failed the inspection giving Whitley second, Shawn Arriaga third, Nathan Schank fourth, and Cody Fendley fifth.

Preliminary action on Saturday night saw Arriaga pick up Benic Enterprises Heat Race No. 1, Whitley won Brown and Miller Heat Race No. 2, and Jacob Tuttle took top honors in King Racing Products Heat Race No. 3.

By way of his charge from 15th to seventh, Jarrett Soares was the Santomauro Racing Products Hard Charger, while Jake Morgan was the TDS hard Luck Award recipient.

Finishing 15th in the feature was Jacob Williams who took home the BR Motorsports P15 award.

A Main Finishing Order

  1. Shawn Jones #14

  2. Daniel Whitley #6K

  3. Shawn Arriaga #56

  4. Nathan Schank #1S

  5. Cody Fendley #9

  6. Tim Sherman Jr. #1JR

  7. Jarrett Soares #12

  8. Cameron Martin #11

  9. Heath Holdsclaw #33

  10. Ka’imi Moniz-Costa #5

  11. Brent Steck #2STX

  12. Trey Walters #7

  13. Scott Clough #60

  14. Dylan Newberry #63

  15. Jacob Williams #13W

  16. Bob Newberry #36

  17. Jacob Tuttle #3F

  18. Jon McCann #93

  19. Braidon Moniz #22JR

  20. Jake Morgan #51

  21. Antonio Aragon #X

ON TAP: The Hunt Wingless Series gets right back to action on August 14th at Placerville Speedway.

WINNERS: Jake Morgan (April 3rd Placerville Speedway), Shawn Jones (April 17th Petaluma Speedway), Bradley Terrell (May 15th Merced Speedway), Jake Morgan (May 22nd Stockton Dirt Track), Shawn Jones (July 3rd Stockton Dirt Track), Shawn Jones (July 17th Placerville Speedway), Shawn Jones (July 24th Merced Speedway).

STAY CONNECTED: Stay up to speed with the series by liking us at or clicking over to the new

JOE HUNT MAGNETOS WINGLESS SERIES- Joe Hunt Magnetos’ Roger Gleeson brought the traveling concept to non-wing sprint cars by popular demand in 2010. Over the years, the Joe Hunt Magnetos Sprint Car Series has ran a limited schedule at select tracks around the state. After running under the leadership of Prentice Motorsports Group and Glad Enterprises from 2016-2018, 2019 saw Gleeson come back aboard. 2021 the series will be in action on 13 occasions as they visit five different Northern California venues.

________________________ PJ Petersen Petersen Media 916-342-3424 Twitter: @Petersen_Media Facebook: /PetersenMedia Instagram: Petersen_Media



bottom of page