Stage Is Set For 54th Annual Johnny Key Classic On Saturday Night

(PETERSEN MEDIA-Aptos, CA)- For the second, and final time in 2014, the California Sprint Car Civil War Series Presented By Flowmaster will take on the Ocean Sprints Presented By Taco Bravo at the Ocean Speedway. This time around, however,  the stakes are raised a little higher on Saturday night, as a star studded field is expected with added money on the line for the 54th Annual Johnny Key Classic Presented by Al’s Roofing Supply.

What started out on the paved surface at the San Jose Speedway following the death of Johnny Key in an on track accident in 1954, The Johnny Key Classic homage to Key at the San Jose Dirt Track until it’s closing in 1999, and for the eighth year in-a-row it has been resurrected at the Ocean Speedway in Watsonville, CA.

The 50-lap, $7500-to-win feature event boasts at least $400 to start, amongst other prizes, such as a $600 purse for the dash, as well as a beefed up Ray Scheidts Electric Fast Time Award ($300), High Five Pizza Hard Charger ($300), and at the time of press there is still laps for sale for $50, with the money being divided up amongst the top-three on each lap. If you are interested in purchasing a lap, please email

During the Summer months, the Civil War Series Presented by Flowmaster and the Ocean Sprints Presented by Taco Bravo have each had two Johnny Key Qualifying races with winners on those nights locking into Saturday night’s dash. The drivers that were victorious over those races, and that are locked in are Mason Moore, Greg DeCaires, Bud Kaeding, and Tommy Tarlton. New to the format this year was locking in high point earners from each series. With Shane Golobic being in the midst of a stout season, and leading both series’ point standings, he will represent the Ocean Sprints, as Justin Sanders, who sits second in Civil War Series points, will take the Civil War top point earner position into the Dash.

The 2014 Civil War Series Presented by Flowmaster Campaign has been extremely competitive, as the series has still not had a repeat winner in seven events, and Saturday night is expected to again be a very competitive night of racing.

Though there are six drivers locked into the field, there are still at least 16 positions up for grabs for the 50-lap feature event as 22 cars will start the feature event.

The format on Saturday night puts all non-locked in cars into hot lap and group qualifying groups to get them lined up in qualifiers. The number of cars entered into the event, with no more than 12 cars starting a given qualifier, will determine the number of qualifiers. Each qualifier will be lined up straight up off of qualifying time, with the number of transfers being determined by the number of qualifiers. Transfer cars will line up behind the dash cars.

The lock in cars will make up a six car, six –lap dash,  and the starting line up will be determined through a pill draw. Please note that on this night, points will only be awarded for the feature event and to cars that do not transfer into the feature event.

Elk Grove, CA driver, Greg DeCaires earned our most recent feature event win, and the transfer spot by winning the August 9th Mark Forni Classic in Placerville, CA. On July 5th, during the first Key Qualifier, Mason Moore turned in a masterful performance at the Petaluma Speedway as he picked up the win, and the lock in spot.

In Taco Bravo action, 1996 Johnny Key Classic winner, Bud Kaeding picked up the popular win aboard his Williams Motorsports entry, and this past Friday night, two-time Johnny Key Classic winner, Tommy Tarlton earned his lock in spot in dominating fashion.

As mentioned before, Shane Golobic will enter this event as the point leader for both the Civil War Series and the Ocean Sprints presented by Taco Bravo, and behind him he has Justin Sanders, Sean Becker, Andy Forsberg, and Alissa Geving chasing after him in the Civil War Series.

A few more former Johnny Key Classic Champions that are scheduled to be in attendance include defending Johnny Key Classic winner, Rico Abreu, 2010 Johnny Key Classic Champion, Tim Kaeding, 1980 and 2008 race winner Brent Kaeding, to go along with the previously mention Bud Kaeding and Tommy Tarlton.

Other drivers that are expected to be on hand on this night include Matt Peterson, Herman Klein, Jonathan Allard, Koen Shaw, Steven Tiner, DJ Netto, Kyle Hirst, Justyn Cox, and many others.

We would like to remind fans to come out to the Johnny Key Pre Party on Friday night in Campbell, CA at Taco Bravo located at 1950 South Bascom Ave from 5pm-830pm.

Also please note an earlier start time on Saturday night. The main grandstand will open at 330pm with cars hitting the track at 4pm.

The Civil War Sprint Car Series would like to thank Flowmaster, BR Motorsports, A.R.T. Speed Equipment, Brodix, ButlerBuilt, CRV Carbon Solutions, Design 500, Dirt Solution, Taco Bravo, Hansen Machine, Frankland Racing Supply, Fuel Safe, Hoosier, Joe Hunt Magnetos, Kaeding Performance, King Racing Products, KSE Power Steering Products, Pit Stop USA, MPD, All Pro, RCM Design, Rod End Supply, Racing Optics, SRP, VSR, and Weld Racing for their support.

ON TAP: The Civil War Sprint Car Series Presented By Flowmaster returns to action on August 23rd for the 54th Johnny Key Classic at the Ocean Speedway as they take on Ocean Sprints Presented By Taco Bravo. Please note an earlier start time will have cars on the track by 4pm.

WINNERS: Winners in the 2014 California Sprint Car Civil War Series Presented By Flowmaster… Andy Gregg- 1 (Marysville Raceway Park on March 15th), DJ Netto-1 (Marysville Raceway Park on May 24th), Shane Golobic-1 (Silver Dollar Speedway on May 25th),  Andy Forsberg- 1 (Placerville Speedway on May 31st), Mason Moore (Petaluma Speedway on July 5th), Brad Furr (Ocean Speedway on July 11th), Greg DeCaires (Placerville Speedway on August 9th)

STAY CONNECTED: Keep up with the Civil War Series Presented By Flowmaster, and find complete results and point standings by clicking over to,   ‘Liking’, or following us on twitter at

CIVIL WAR SERIES PRESENTED BY FLOWMASTER- Founded in 1991 as the North-South Series, the Civil War Sprint Car Series was born in 1993 giving 360 Sprint Cars in California a sanctioning body. What started as just a handful of races at three different tracks has evolved into quite the series. In 2014, the Civil War Sprint Car Series will host 14 events at 8 different tracks around California.

#Motorsports #petersenmedia #CivilWar #OceanSpeedway #NewsInfo #Racing


Petersen Media Newsletter