Star Studded 9th Annual Mark Forni Classic On Tap Saturday Night

(PETERSEN MEDIA-Aptos, CA)- The stars and cars of the Civil War Series Presented By Flowmaster return to the Placerville Speedway on Saturday night for the lucrative 9th Annual Mark Forni classic with $5000 up for grabs for the feature event winner along with a lock in spot to the Johnny Key Classic.

In what will be the series’ seventh race of the 2014 season, the Mark Forni Classic will be the second of three stops at the high banked ¼ mile speedway, and many of the regions top drivers will be on hand for the race that pays tribute to a man who was heavily involved at the speedway for decades.

Saturday night offers a big payday to the feature event winner as they will take home a cool $5000 thanks to many generous local sponsors,  but the winner will also be locked into the 54th Johnny Key Classic taking place at the Ocean Speedway on August 23rd.

During the 2013 running of the event, Andy Gregg became the first Placerville resident to pocket the prestigious race, as he piloted Scott Russell’s No. 14R machine to victory lane. With Gregg representing California at the Knoxville Nationals this weekend, he will be the only former winner of the race not in action as two time winners Andy Forsberg and Sean Becker will look for their third event wins, while Kyle Hirst, Greg DeCaires, and Mason Moore will look to become two-time winners.

In what has been a highly competitive Civil War season to date, the series has seen six different winners in each of the six races, the most recent being Brad Furr at the July 11th Howard Kaeding Classic in Watsonville, CA.

During the May 31st visit to the Placerville Speedway, Auburn, CA stand out, Andy Forsberg, captured his first Civil War Series presented by Flowmaster feature event win at the track with his F&F Racing team, and is very hungry to become to series’ first repeat winner of the season, and become the all time wins leader of the Forni Classic.

Leading the series back to action is series point leader, Fremont, CA pilot, Shane Golobic, who is coming off a great night at the Placerville Speedway last Saturday night, as he was able to pick up wins in both his Keith Day sprint car, as well as in a midget.

Sitting behind Golobic, is the reigning series champion, Roseville, CA driver, Sean Becker. Like Forsberg, Becker is looking to become the first three time winner of this event following his 2008 and 2009 wins. Becker recently picked up his first win of the season with his Main Motorsports as he won at the Placerville Speedway with the King of the West Series, and will look to find victory lane again on Saturday night in a big way.

Coming into the Mark Forni Classic sitting third in Civil War Series standings is Prunedale, CA product, Justin Sanders, who is in the midst of a breakout season at the Placerville Speedway in 2014. With three wins at the speedway to date, Sanders enters this event on heels of a second place finish at the speedway last Saturday night, and is eager to cash in with the Civil War Series, as he sits just 50 markers out of the top spot.

With Forsberg sitting in the fourth spot, Penngrove, CA driver, Alissa Geving rounds out the top-five off of her very impressive run with the series at the Ocean Speedway back in July. Going toe-to-toe with Brad Furr and Jonathan Allard, Geving ended her night on the podium, and will be one to watch at the Placerville Speedway on Saturday night, as the high banked facility fits her hammerdown driving style.

Other drivers that are scheduled to be in attendance looking to add their name to the list of winners of this marquee event on Saturday night are Matt Peterson, Herman Klein, Koen Shaw, Jonathan Allard, Steven Tiner, Kurt Nelson, Kyle Hirst, DH Netto, Justyn Cox, Bradley Terrell, Jimmy Trulli, Mason Moore, and many others.

On Saturday night, the grandstands are scheduled to open at 5pm, with cars beginning to hit the track for warm ups by 6pm. With a capacity crowd anticipated, fans are encouraged to get an early start to ensure a ticket.

Past Mark Forni Classic Winners

2006- Kyle Hirst

2007- Greg DeCaires

2008- Sean Becker

2009- Sean Becker-

2010- Mason Moore

2011- Andy Forsberg

2012- Andy Forsberg

2013- Andy Gregg

The Civil War Sprint Car Series would like to thank Flowmaster, BR Motorsports, A.R.T. Speed Equipment, Brodix, ButlerBuilt, CRV Carbon Solutions, Design 500, Dirt Solutuion, Taco Bravo, Hansen Machine, Frankland Racing Supply, Fuel Safe, Hoosier, Joe Hunt Magnetos, Kaeding Performance, King Racing Products, KSE Power Steering Products, Pit Stop USA, MPD, All Pro, RCM Design, Rod End Supply, Racing Optics, SRP, VSR, and Weld Racing for their support.

ON TAP: The Civil War Sprint Car Series Presented By Flowmaster will return to the Placerville Speedway on Saturday night for the Mark Forni Classic.

WINNERS: Winners in the 2014 California Sprint Car Civil War Series Presented By Flowmaster… Andy Gregg- 1 (Marysville Raceway Park on March 15th), DJ Netto-1 (Marysville Raceway Park on May 24th), Shane Golobic-1 (Silver Dollar Speedway on May 25th),  Andy Forsberg- 1 (Placerville Speedway on May 31st), Mason Moore (Petaluma Speedway on July 5th), Brad Furr (Ocean Speedway on July 11th)

STAY CONNECTED: Keep up with the Civil War Series Presented By Flowmaster, and find complete results and point standings by clicking over to,   ‘Liking’, or following us on twitter at

CIVIL WAR SERIES PRESENTED BY FLOWMASTER- Founded in 1991 as the North-South Series, the Civil War Sprint Car Series was born in 1993 giving 360 Sprint Cars in California a sanctioning body. What started as just a handful of races at three different tracks has evolved into quite the series. In 2014, the Civil War Sprint Car Series will host 14 events at 8 different tracks around California.

PHOTO- Donna Peter

#PR #petersenmedia #Info #PressRelease #PlacervilleSpeedway #CivilWarSeries #MarkForniClassic #Racing #News


Petersen Media Newsletter