Tanner Thorson Makes Late Race Move To Net Howard Kaeding Classic and Score First Career Civil War S

(PETERSEN MEDIA- Aptos, CA, )- 2018 has been a year of first time series winners and fantastic finishes with the Civil War Series pres. by Flowmaster and the theme remained true on Friday night as Tanner Thorson made a move around Kyle Hirst coming to the white flag to claim the 8th Annual Howard Kaeding Classic and score his first ever Civil War Series feature event win.

When the race came to life it was two-time and defending HK Classic winner Kyle Hirst leading the field to green. Jumping out to the early lead, Hirst looked very strong out front and was the early favorite to make it three in a row at the race honoring a living legend.

Following a lap two stoppage, the action would resume as Hirst continued to lead the way over Thorson, Brad Furr, DJ Netto, Brent Kaeding, and Michael Kofoid.

In just mere laps the leaders would reach the back of the field and find themselves in dense traffic. As Hirst was able to get through with no issues, the battle for second would pick up between Netto and Thorson until the race’s next stoppage came on the 18th circuit for Tim Kaeding.

During an extended green flag run, perennial Ocean Speedway favorite Justin Sanders was able to march forward from his 12th starting position as he found himself in fourth with just 12 laps remaining in the race.

The restart would be short lived as Bud Kaeding and Brad Furr would get collected on the 20th lap, and lap 21 would see Gary Nelson get upside down and climb away from his machine uninjured.

Back underway, Thorson would make a bid for the race lead, though Hirst would fend him off and continue to lead the way for two laps until the red was again needed on the 23rd circuit for former race winner, Brad Furr.

The final seven lap shootout would be something to talk about as Thorson was able to hang with Hirst as Hirst pushed hard while at the front of the field. Getting tight on the thick cushion that had built up around the speedway on consecutive laps, Hirst would leave the door open for Thorson to make something happen late.

Getting into traffic with two-laps to go, Thorson would hang with Hirst and drove around the leader in turns three and four as they came to the white flag. Out in front, Thorson would withstand one final attempt from Hirst as he would hang on to pick up the win over Kyle Hirst, Justin Sanders, Shane Golobic, Michael Kofoid, Tanner Carrick, DJ Netto, Koen Shaw, a resurgent Tim Kaeding, and Kyle Offill who rounded out the Top-10.

Kyle Hirst would get the night started by earning quick time honors before heat race wins went to Thorson, Brent Kaeding, Brad Furr and Kyle Offill. Kyle Hirst would win the Flowmaster Dash, and Jeremy Chisum won the semi over Tim Kaeding, Jason Chisum, Dustin Freitas, Vaughn Schott, and Gary Nelson; all who transferred into the feature event.

2018 Civil War Series presented by Flowmaster Schedule

8/25 Ocean Speedway- 58th Annual Johnny Key Classic

9/5   Silver Dollar Speedway- Gold Cup Opener

9/15 Calistoga Speedway- Season Finale with World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series

ON TAP: The Civil War Series presented by Flowmaster will go idle for a month before returning to Ocean Speedway on August 25th for the 58th Annual Johnny key Classic.

2018 WINNERS: Justin Sanders (March 24th Marysville Raceway), Bud Kaeding (April 21st Thunderbowl Raceway), Steven Kent (May 5th Thunderbowl Raceway), Justin Sanders (May 26th Marysville Raceway), Kyle Hirst (May 27th Silver Dollar Speedway), Colby Copeland (June 23rd Calistoga Speedway), Tanner Thorson (July 20th Ocean Speedway).

STAY CONNECTED: Keep up with the Civil War Series Presented By Flowmaster, and find complete results and point standings by clicking over to www.racepmg.com, ‘Liking’ www.facebook.com/civilwarsprints, or following us on twitter at www.twitter.com/civilwarsprints. For more information on Flowmaster, please visit www.flowmastermufflers.com.

CIVIL WAR SERIES PRESENTED BY FLOWMASTER- Founded in 1991 as the North-South Series, the Civil War Sprint Car Series was born in 1993 giving 360ci Sprint Cars in California a sanctioning body. What started as just a handful of races at three different tracks has evolved into quite the series. In 2018, the Civil War Sprint Car Series will host 10 events at 5 different tracks around California.


#racepmg #HKClassic #petersenmedia #MediaInfo #racingnews #CivilWarSeries #OceanSpeedway #News


Petersen Media Newsletter