top of page

Tight Civil War Championship Battle Heads To Petaluma Speedway Saturday Night


(PETERSEN MEDIA- Aptos, CA)- With just two events remaining on the Civil War Series Presented by Flowmaster schedule in 2015, the points battle is in full tilt as the top-three drivers are separated by just 20 markers as the series takes aim at the always tricky Petaluma Speedway on Saturday night.

Nestled in the heart of Sonoma County, the Petaluma Speedway’s ever changing ‘surface always provides some of the most exciting action on the series schedule. With two series events already in the books at the 3/8 mile speed plant, the third and final event could prove pivotal as three drivers fight for the 2015 Civil War Series Championship.

With a new wrinkle in play for the 2015, a driver can throw out their lowest point total of the season during their quest for the championship. Though Justin Sanders has the official point lead, Andy Forsberg leads the series into the Petaluma Speedway with a slim point lead with throw away night’s factored in.

Forsberg enters Saturday night’s event with a leg up on his closest competitors, Justin Sanders, and Shane Golobic, as Forsberg has ran regularly at the speedway all year long picking up five feature event wins, as well as a podium during the series’ June stop.

Justin Sanders has been on fire in 2015, and comes in looking to build off his two Petaluma Speedway podiums thus far as he searches for his 20th A Main win of the season. Sanders has had a love-hate relationship with the Petaluma Speedway and after a tough third place finish at the Silver Dollar Speedway during the Gold Cup Race of Champions, Sanders is eager to cut into Forsberg’s slim point lead.

Over the course of his career, Shane Golobic has ran very well at the Petaluma Speedway. Racking up a few wins over the years, Golobic will look to find his way back on the podium as he searches for his second consecutive Civil War Series title. During the June stop, Golobic would finish in the 13th spot, and comes into this event on the heels of an 11th place showing in Chico, CA.

Though the race for the championship is tight, other drivers that are expected to in action on Saturday night include Sean Becker, Koen Shaw, Bradley Terrell, Cody Lamar, Petaluma’s most recent winner Zach Lynskey, Colby Copeland, Geoff Ensign, Nick Ringo, Jr, Dustin Golobic, and many more of the region’s top 360ci drivers.

The Petaluma Speedway gets off to an earlier start than most tracks, so please remember that the main grandstands open at 4pm, with time trials slated for 5pm. Drivers and teams please be advised that the driver’s meeting is scheduled for 4pm.

Tickets are available on Saturday night with General Admission tickets costing $18, Juniors and Seniors tickets costing $15, and children 5 and under will be admitted for free.

ON TAP: The Civil War Series presented by Flowmaster takes to the Petaluma Speedway for the penultimate event of the 2015 season.

WINNERS: Shane Golobic (March 20th, Marysville Raceway), Bradley Terrell (March 28th, Petaluma Speedway), Sean Becker (April 11th, Calistoga Speedway), Andy Forsberg (May 23rd Marysville Raceway), Jonathan Allard (May 24th Silver Dollar Speedway), Greg DeCaires (May 30th Placerville Speedway), Jonathan Allard (June 20th, Petaluma Speedway), Justin Sanders (July 10th, Ocean Speedway), Carson Macedo (August 8th, Placerville Speedway), Andy Forsberg (August 29th Ocean Speedway), Sean Becker (September 9th Silver Dollar Speedway).

STAY CONNECTED: Keep up with the Civil War Series Presented By Flowmaster, and find complete results and point standings by clicking over to,   ‘Liking’, or following us on twitter at  For more information on Flowmaster, please visit

CIVIL WAR SERIES PRESENTED BY FLOWMASTER- Founded in 1991 as the North-South Series, the Civil War Sprint Car Series was born in 1993 giving 360ci Sprint Cars in California a sanctioning body. What started as just a handful of races at three different tracks has evolved into quite the series. In 2015, the Civil War Sprint Car Series will host 14 events at 8 different tracks around California.



bottom of page