top of page

Troy Foulger Wins Thrilling IMCA All Star Modified Tour Opener


(PETERSEN MEDIA- Tulare, CA)- Saturday night at the Thunderbowl Raceway in Tulare, CA the IMCA All Star Modified Tour made its series debut, and the first show would be memorable as Troy Foulger used a last lap pass on Duane Cleveland to become the series’ first ever winner.

With 23 cars making the trip to the Thunderbolw Raceway for the series’ debut, it was Cleveland jumping out to the early lead but Bobby Hogge ran in his wake and was looking to pounce early.

Matching Cleveland’s every move, Hogge saw his opening on the seventh lap as he took command of the race off of turn two and began to distance himself from the field.

A pair of cautions on lap 10 and lap 11 would bunch the field back up, and as Hogge got away Robby Sawyer would overtake Cleveland for the second spot on the 14th lap just before Hogge would have mechanical issues force him come to a stop, and bring out a caution.

With Sawyer the new leader, Cleveland would return the favor on the ensuing restart as he retook the top spot, as the battle heated up between he and Sawyer. On the 17th lap, Troy Foulger would get in the mix as the top-three ran wheel-to-wheel on the 1/3 mile oval.

Cleveland would get loose as the trio battled, and Sawyer would be in the wrong place and contact would ensue bringing Sawyer’s night to a disappointing end.

The final five laps of the feature event would be an absolute dogfight between Cleveland and Foulger, with Cleveland keep Foulger at bay until the final where Foulger was able to get a run and narrowly beat Cleveland to the checkered flag to become the first ever winner with the IMCA All Star Modified Tour.

Cleveland would hang to finish in the second spot with Brad Pounds in third, Joshn Combs in fourth, and Ryan McDaniel rounding out the Top-Five.

Heat race wins on Saturday night went to Paul Stone, McDaniel, Steve Fangmeyer, and Cleveland.

ON TAP: The IMCA Modified Tour will roar back into action this coming Saturday night at the Merced Speedway in Merced, CA.

WINNERS: Troy Foulger (May 14th Tulare, CA).

STAY CONNECTED: Keep up with all the happenings with the Prentice Motorsports Group by clicking over to or ‘liking’

PRENTICE MOTORSPORTS GROUP- The Prentice Motorsports Group promotes the Ocean Speedway, Ocean Sprints Presented by Taco Bravo, Civil War Series Presented by Flowmaster, and the King of the West Series, the Wingless Series Presented by Joe Hunt Magnetos, and new in 2016 is the All Star Modified Tour.



bottom of page