top of page

Civil War Series Opens 62nd Annual Gold Cup Race of Champions Wednesday Night


(PETERSEN MEDIA- Aptos, CA)- Fresh off of two lucrative events, the lights again shine bright on the Civil War Series presented by Flowmaster, as the series opens the 62nd Annual Gold Cup Race of Champions on Wednesday night at the Silver Dollar Speedway.

Fresh off of a dominating performance during the Johnny Key Classic, Andy Forsberg comes into the Wednesday night show with his confidence very high, as he aims at his third win of the year with the series in the biggest week of racing that California has to offer.

Though he failed to get into victory lane last weekend, Justin Sanders is seeking his 18th win of the season, and will look to get back into Civil War Series victory lane. During the 2013 edition of this race, Sanders was the car to beat until a late flat tire derailed him.

Last year, Matt Peterson earned his first career sprint car victory in thrilling fashion during this race. Though he has ran with the series sparingly in 2015, Peterson should again be in the hunt as he aims for more Civil War glory.

With the season winding down, the points race gets interesting as the Civil War Series presented by Flowmaster offers drivers a mulligan in 2015. While Justin Sanders has a commanding lead officially in the point standings, Forsberg unofficially leads the way over Shane Golobic, Sanders, Sean Becker, and Bradley Terrell rounding out the top five.

Unofficially, the point race is extremely tight factoring the mulligan, but should a driver have another bad night, things could change drastically as the top three are separated by roughly 30 points.

Other drivers that are expected to be on hand Wednesday night include Willie Croft, Steven Tiner, Kyle Hirst, Koen Shaw, Jonathan Allard, Cody Lamar, Shawn Wright, Mason Moore, Justyn Cox, DJ Netto, Kenny Allen, and many more of the regions top 360ci drivers.

Wednesday night the Silver Dollar Speedway front gates will open at 5pm. Reserved seats are still available for $25, or General Admission tickets will be sold for $10. General Admission seats are located in the turns one and four bleachers from rows A-I. For more ticket information please visit

ON TAP: The Civil War Series presented by Flowmaster is now set to open the Gold Cup Race of Champions on Wednesday September 9th at the Silver Dollar Speedway in Chico, CA.

WINNERS: Shane Golobic (March 20th, Marysville Raceway), Bradley Terrell (March 28th, Petaluma Speedway), Sean Becker (April 11th, Calistoga Speedway), Andy Forsberg (May 23rd Marysville Raceway), Jonathan Allard (May 24th Silver Dollar Speedway), Greg DeCaires (May 30th Placerville Speedway), Jonathan Allard (June 20th, Petaluma Speedway), Justin Sanders (July 10th, Ocean Speedway), Carson Macedo (August 8th, Placerville Speedway), Andy Forsberg (August 29th Ocean Speedway)

STAY CONNECTED: Keep up with the Civil War Series Presented By Flowmaster, and find complete results and point standings by clicking over to,   ‘Liking’, or following us on twitter at  For more information on Flowmaster, please visit

CIVIL WAR SERIES PRESENTED BY FLOWMASTER- Founded in 1991 as the North-South Series, the Civil War Sprint Car Series was born in 1993 giving 360ci Sprint Cars in California a sanctioning body. What started as just a handful of races at three different tracks has evolved into quite the series. In 2015, the Civil War Sprint Car Series will host 14 events at 8 different tracks around California.



bottom of page