top of page

Civil War Series Presented By Flowmaster Set For 11th Annual Mark Forni Classic at Placerville Speed


(PETERSEN MEDIA- Aptos, CA)- The second half of the 2016 Civil War Series presented by Flowmaster season get underway in a big way Saturday night as the series invades the Placerville Speedway for the $5,000-to-win 11th Annual Mark Forni Classic.

In the Summer of 2005 Mark Forni succumbed to Multiple Myloma at the age of 45 years old. For generations The Forni family has a great history in El Dorado County and deep ties to the El Dorado County Fairground and much of the land on which it sits.

Much like his forefathers, Mark Forni had a great passion for the county fair and its attributes, especially the race track.  From his childhood up until his passing racing played a special role in Forni’s life so it was a natural fit for his family and the local community to band together to establish this race in his honor back in 2006.

A successful run sees this race move into it’s 11th year of existence, and will attract some of the very best 360ci sprint car drivers that this region has to offer.

Heading into Saturday night’s event, two-time Mark Forni Classic Champion, Andy Forsberg leads the 2010 event champ and current Placerville Speedway point leader Mason Moore by a slim 17 digits.

Moore currently has three wins at the speedway, and will look to pick up his first series win of the season and his second career Forni Classic triumph as he attempts to cut into Forsberg’s point lead.

Forsberg, who has been a staple at the Placerville Speedway until recent years, will come into Saturday’s event hungry for his third career Mark Forni Classic win, and looking to extend his lead as he chases an unprecedented ninth career Civil War Series presented by Flowmaster Championship.

With big money on the line Saturday night, a who’s who of drivers is expected to be on hand including previous Forni Classic Champions Kyle Hirst (2006),  Greg DeCaires (2007, 2014), Sean Becker (2008, 2009), Andy Gregg (2013), as well as the aforementioned Moore (2010) and Forsberg (2011, 20012). Other drivers expected to be on hand are Bradley Terrell, Michael Ing, Geoff Ensign, Steven Tiner, Chase Majdic, Seth Nunes, Koen and Kyler Shaw, Michael Kofoid, Matt Peterson, Justyn Cox, Tyler Walker, and many more top drivers from around the area.

On Saturday night, Russell Motorsports, Inc. will cover the driver pill draw fee, and will also offer a Happy Hour in the main grandstands from 4pm-6pm.

The front gates are scheduled to open at 3pm with qualifying expected to go green at 6pm. Tickets for the 11th Annual Mark Forni Classic will be available at the front gate starting at 6$ for children 6-11, $15 for juniors and seniors, and $18 for adults, while children five and under will be admitted at no charge.

Previous Mark Forni Classic Winners

2006- Kyle Hirst

2007- Greg DeCaires

2008- Sean Becker

2009- Sean Becker (2)

2010- Mason Moore

2011- Andy Forsberg

2012- Andy Forsberg (2)

2013- Andy Gregg

2014- Greg DeCaires (2)

2015- Carson Macedo

2016 Schedule

August 6th– Placerville Speedway (Mark Forni Classic)

August 20th– Ocean Speedway (Johnny Key Classic)

September 7th– Silver Dollar Speedway (Gold Cup)

September 17th– Marysville Raceway

September 24th– Petaluma Speedway

November 5th– Stockton Dirt Track (Tribute To GP)

ON TAP: The Civil War Series presented by Flowmaster will head to the Placerville Speedway on Saturday night for the 11th Annual Mark Forni Classic.

WINNERS: Willie Croft (March 25th, Silver Dollar Speedway), Andy Forsberg (May 28th, Marysville Raceway), Cory Eliason (May 29th, Silver Dollar Speedway), Steven Tiner (June 11th, Placerville Speedway), Sean Becker (June 18th, Petaluma Speedway), Kyle Hirst (July 15th, Ocean Speedway).

STAY CONNECTED: Keep up with the Civil War Series Presented By Flowmaster, and find complete results and point standings by clicking over to, ‘Liking’, or following us on twitter at For more information on Flowmaster, please visit

CIVIL WAR SERIES PRESENTED BY FLOWMASTER- Founded in 1991 as the North-South Series, the Civil War Sprint Car Series was born in 1993 giving 360ci Sprint Cars in California a sanctioning body. What started as just a handful of races at three different tracks has evolved into quite the series. In 2016, the Civil War Sprint Car Series will host 12 events at 6 different tracks around California.


bottom of page