top of page

Cory Eliason Bags Third Ocean Sprints pres. By Taco Bravo Win of The Season


(PETERSEN MEDIA- Watsonville, CA)- Friday night in Watsonville, CA, Cory Eliason claimed his third Ocean Sprints presented by Taco Bravo win of the season as he piloted the Antaya Motorsports machine to the impressive victory.

Making starts aboard both the Antaya Motorsports entry and his own machine at the track this year, Eliason has been tough to beat at the scenic ¼ mile and Friday night was no different.

Getting off to the early lead, Eliason would feel pressure from Penngrove, CA driver, Michael Kofoid in the early stages of the race.

With Tom Sagmiller providing another excellent racing surface, the lead duo of Eliason and Kofoid would find traffic on the eighth lap and Kofoid would close in on the leader.

Eliason would continued to lead the way until the race’s first caution flag flew on the 16th lap.

Back underway, Eliason would lead the way over Kofoid, Tommy Tarlton, Cole Macedo, and Matthew Moles. Action would be fierce as the field would see the green-flag for the rest of the night.

Getting back into lapped traffic, Kofoid would continue to stalk Eliason, but the Kingsburg, CA wheelman was able to keep him at bay as he would go on to capture his third Ocean Sprints pres. By Taco Bravo win of the season.

“We have a huge two-day show coming up next weekend at Ocean Speedway with the Howard Kaeding Classic, so it is great to come in here and continue to have some good speed,” Eliason said. “We will look to mimic this success with the Civil War Series and King of the West Series this weekend. Thanks to this team for all of their hard work.”

Kofoid would hang on to finish second, and Tarlton would take the final spot on the podium. Matthew Moles would finish fourth, Cole Macedo fifth, Geoff Ensign sixth, Brad Furr seventh, Kaleb Montgomery eighth, Jason Chisum ninth, and Koen Shaw rounded out the Top-10.

Heading into Friday night, Justin Sanders led the point battle by 32 digits over Geoff Ensign. Sanders took a bit of a hit losing an engine during time trials, and with Ensign’s sixth place finish the Sebastopol, CA driver has now taken over the point lead by 36 points over Brad Furr. Sanders now sits in the fifth spot.

Heat race wins would go to Tarlton, Brad Furr, and Kurt Nelson, while Cory Eliason would take top honors in the Dash.

Michael Kofoid would kick the night off by winning the Ray Scheidts Electric Quick Time award with a lap of 11.700 seconds.

The Beer Optics Hard Luck award would go to Kurt Nelson after his lap 16 accident, while Zane Blanchard would earn the High-5 Pizza Hard Charger Award by gaining 7 spots in the feature event.

ON TAP- The Ocean Sprints presented by Taco Bravo will take on the Civil War Series presented by Flowmaster on Friday night as the two series’ will fight for supremacy during the Howard Kaeding Classic opener.

STAY CONNECTED- Stay up to speed with all things Ocean Speedway by visiting the website at, by following us on Twitter @Ocean_Speedway, or by liking us on Facebook at

Ocean Speedway is located at 2601 E. Lake Ave Watsonville, CA 95076.

PETERSEN MEDIA: Petersen Media is a promotional agency that can handle your public relations, marketing, and any other promotional needs. Petersen Media utilizes multiple tactics to help you reach your intended audience, and boost awareness.


bottom of page