top of page

Wednesday Night Civil War Show Kicks Off 61st Annual Gold Cup Race of Champions


(PETERSEN MEDIA-Aptos, CA)- With just three races left on the 2014 schedule, the California Sprint Car Civil War Series Presented By Flowmaster is set to kick off the 61st Annual Gold Cup Race of Champions on Wednesday night at the Silver Dollar Speedway in Chico, CA.

In a year that has so far seen eight different winners in eight races, one of our championship contenders will look to make headway, and land in victory lane during this exciting event that will open up the 61st Gold Cup Race of Champions for the 18th year.

With a line up of heavy hitters expected to be in action during the entire week in Chico, CA, huge crowds tend to make this event highly sought after. In the series’ first visit to the speedway back in May, it was current series point leader, Shane Golobic out dueling Jonathan Allard to pick up his lone series win on the year.

With the season coming down the homestretch, Golobic, who has been ultra consistent with the series,  would like nothing more than to pad his point lead, and park his Gabilan Ag Services/Keith Day Trucking entry in victory lane as the first repeat winner of the season this coming Wednesday night.

Entering the event second in points, and sitting 86 points behind Golobic, is 2013 series champion, and newly crowned Silver Dollar Speedway Champion, Sean Becker. Becker has been on a terror at the Silver Dollar Speedway this year, and following in third place finish with the series at the Speedway in May, ‘The Shark’ will be looking to take a bite out of Golobic’s point lead aboard the Main Motorsports No. 35M.

After a frustrating Johnny Key Classic, Justin Sanders enters the Wednesday night show third in the standings. Putting on a charge from 22nd to 12th aboard his Rudy Warrington No. 18 during the May visit, Sanders comes into this event hungry for his first Civil War win of the year. Adding fuel to his fire, Sanders comes into this event with a chip on his shoulder as a late race flat tire derailed his dominating performance during this event a year ago.

Auburn, CA pilot, Andy Forsberg sits fourth in the standings, and heading into the Wednesday night show, has one Civil War win to his credit with the F&F Racing team. During  weekly 2014 action at the Silver Dollar Speedway, Forsberg made nine starts and picked up two feature event wins, and will look to back up a strong Gold Cup performance from a year ago, starting on Wednesday night.

Rounding out the Top-Five with the series is Penngrove, CA’s, Alissa Geving. Geving continues to show some serious speed with her no fear, hammer-down attitude. During last weekend’s Johnny Key Classic, Geving thrilled the crowd in her qualifier to make the feature event, and on Wednesday night, she will look to score her first series win of the season, and become the first lady racer to win the event since Destiny Hays in 2001.

During the 2013 Wednesday night show, Chico, CA driver, Kyle Hirst, took advantage of a late Justin Sanders flat tire, and went on to score the win in dramatic fashion. Hirst will in fact be back aboard his Roth Motorsports entry on Wednesday night looking to defend his win.

Many other drivers are expected to be on hand including, Matt Peterson, Herman Klein, Steven Tiner, Mason Moore, Koen Shaw, Steven Tiner, Andy Gregg, Willie Croft, Jimmy Trulli, Brad Bumgarner, Carson Macedo and Bud Kaeding.

The Civil War Sprint Car Series would like to thank Flowmaster, BR Motorsports, A.R.T. Speed Equipment, Brodix, ButlerBuilt, CRV Carbon Solutions, Design 500, Dirt Solution, Taco Bravo, Hansen Machine, Frankland Racing Supply, Fuel Safe, Hoosier, Joe Hunt Magnetos, Kaeding Performance, King Racing Products, KSE Power Steering Products, Pit Stop USA, MPD, All Pro, RCM Design, Rod End Supply, Racing Optics, SRP, VSR, and Weld Racing for their support.

ON TAP: The Civil War Sprint Car Series Presented By Flowmaster will kick of the Gold Cup Race of Champions at the Silver Dollar Speedway for the always exciting Wednesday show on September 3rd.

WINNERS: Winners in the 2014 California Sprint Car Civil War Series Presented By Flowmaster… Andy Gregg- 1 (Marysville Raceway Park on March 15th), DJ Netto-1 (Marysville Raceway Park on May 24th), Shane Golobic-1 (Silver Dollar Speedway on May 25th),  Andy Forsberg- 1 (Placerville Speedway on May 31st), Mason Moore (Petaluma Speedway on July 5th), Brad Furr (Ocean Speedway on July 11th), Greg DeCaires (Placerville Speedway on August 9th), Rico Abreu (Ocean Speedway on August 23rd)

STAY CONNECTED: Keep up with the Civil War Series Presented By Flowmaster, and find complete results and point standings by clicking over to,   ‘Liking’, or following us on twitter at

CIVIL WAR SERIES PRESENTED BY FLOWMASTER- Founded in 1991 as the North-South Series, the Civil War Sprint Car Series was born in 1993 giving 360 Sprint Cars in California a sanctioning body. What started as just a handful of races at three different tracks has evolved into quite the series. In 2014, the Civil War Sprint Car Series will host 14 events at 8 different tracks around California.



bottom of page