top of page

Wingless Series Presented by Joe Hunt Magnetos Set For Wednesday Night Showdown


(PETERSEN MEDIA- Watsonville, CA)- On the heels of yet another barn burner, the Wingless Series presented by Joe Hunt Magnetos will be back in action on Wednesday night as they open up the 62nd Annual Gold Cup Race of Champions alongside the Civil War Series at the Silver Dollar Speedway.

In what has been unquestionably a breakout season for this series, the stars and cars will take part in one of their biggest events of the year as they open up the fastest four days in California at the Silver Dollar Speedway.

Though the last five races have been won by either Terry Schank Jr or Klint Simpson, the action in every race has been noteworthy with two and three car battles for each win coming down to the final few laps.

Last Saturday night during the Johnny Key Classic, Klint Simpson and Austin Liggett put on an absolute thriller. With Simpson leading the early part of the race, Liggett was able to track him down and take the lead around the race’s halfway point. A couple of late cautions gave Simpson just the opportunity he needed as he was able to take the lead on the final lap, and pick up the lucrative victory.

During the last two Wednesday night Gold Cup openers, the man to beat has been Sebastopol, CA wheelman, Geoff Ensign. With Ensign still in search of a ride for this race, the series is set to see a fresh face land in victory lane for the Gold Cup opener.

San Jose, CA driver, Gary Nelson Jr continues to lead the series points battle, but Klint Simpson is quickly reeling him in. With 29 points separating the top-two with just  two races left in 2015, Simpson will need to continue to run up front and hope for a little luck as both drivers seek their first Wingless Series title.

Other drivers that are likely to be on hand on Wednesday night include Terry Schank, Cody Fendley, Angelique Bell, Austin Liggett, Shane Myhre, Jimmy Christian, Nick Larson, John and Bradley Clark, Shayna Sylvia, and many more of the regions top wingless driers.

ON TAP: The Wingless Series Presented by Joe Hunt Magnetos will be back in action alongside the Civil War Series as they open up the annual Gold Cup Race of Champions at the Silver Dollar Speedway on Wednesday September 9th.

WINNERS: Joe Stornetta (Silver Dollar Speedway on March 7th), Colton Slack (Calistoga Speedway on April 12th), Joe Stornetta (Placerville Speedway on May 30th), Austin Liggett (Stockton Dirt Track on June 13th), Terry Schank,  (Calistoga Speedway on June 27th), Klint Simpson (Ocean Speedway on July 11th), Terry Schank (Petaluma Speedway on July 18th), Terry Schank (Stockton Dirt Track on August 1st), Terry Schank (Petaluma Speedway on August 8th), Klint Simpson (Ocean Speedway on August 29th).

STAY CONNECTED: Stay connected with the series by clicking over to

JOE HUNT MAGNETOS SPRINT CAR SERIES- Joe Hunt Magnetos’ Roger Gleason brought the traveling concept to non-wing sprint cars by popular demand. Over the years, the Joe Hunt Magnetos Sprint Car Series has ran a limited schedule at select tracks around the state. In 2015, the series will operate under the direction of the Prentice Motorsports Group competing in 12 races scattered at six different tracks.



bottom of page