Schank Scores Wine Country Classic Win

(PETERSEN MEDIA- Calistoga, CA)- Looking like the  man to beat in April at the Calistoga Speedway with the Wingless Series Presented by Joe Hunt Magnetos, Terry Schank was able to fend off a late charge from Gary Nelson, Jr to score the win on Saturday night.

With 16 cars on hand for the series’ second and final event at the historic ½ mile facility, Terry Schank and Gary Nelson, Jr would lead the field to green, with Schank getting the early nod.

With Schank out front, Nelson kept him in his sights as he ran in the second spot. Elsewhere in the field April’s feature event winner, Colton Slack was making some moves from his fourth row starting spot as he could get through turns three and four better than anyone.

Making a couple of bold moves, Slack worked into the third spot, as Klint Simpson, Shane Myhre and Joe Stornetta flanked him.

With a couple of caution flags sprinkled into the 20-lap affair, Schank continued to be the man to beat up front, as he ran a very strong race. In the closing laps however, Gary Nelson, Jr’s machine was seemingly getting stronger and he began to noticeably cut into the Schank’s lead.

Pulling up to Schank’s rear bumper, Nelson would try everything he could to pull off the late race dramatics, but simply could not find away around the Santa Rosa, CA driver, as Schank took the win with Nelson settling for second. Colton Slack would hang on to third, Simpson fourth, and Joe Stornetta would round out the Top-Five.

In preliminary action on this night, Schank would get things started with quick time honors while heat race wins went to Nelson and Stornetta. Schank would win the dash, and earn the right to start on the pole for the 20-lap feature event.

ON TAP: The Wingless Series Presented by Joe Hunt Magnetos will take this weekend off before heading to the Ocean Speedway on July 11th for the Howard Kaeding Classic.

WINNERS: Joe Stornetta (Silver Dollar Speedway on March 7th), Colton Slack (Calistoga Speedway on April 12th), Joe Stornetta (Placerville Speedway on May 30th), Austin Liggett (Stockton Dirt Track on June 13th), Terry Schank,  (Calistoga Speedway on June 27th).

STAY CONNECTED: Stay connected with the series by clicking over to

JOE HUNT MAGNETOS SPRINT CAR SERIES- Joe Hunt Magnetos’ Roger Gleason brought the traveling concept to non-wing sprint cars by popular demand. Over the years, the Joe Hunt Magnetos Sprint Car Series has ran a limited schedule at select tracks around the state. In 2015, the series will operate under the direction of the Prentice Motorsports Group competing in 12 races scattered at six different tracks.

#Motorsports #PR #winglessseries #petersenmedia #Calistoga #Info #Media #Winning #joehuntmagnets #Racing #News


Petersen Media Newsletter