top of page

Shawn Jones Storms to Hunt Series Win at Petaluma Speedway

(PETERSEN MEDIA-Petaluma, CA)- Former Hunt Series Champion, Sean Jones, looked to be back in Championship form on Saturday night as he turned in a sound performance at Petaluma Speedway and grabbed the win during the series’ second stop of the 2021 season.

When the feature went green on Saturday night it was Nick Robfogel jumping out to the early lead. While Robfogel led the way early, behind him Sawn Jones and Bradley Terrell were working their ways forward.

While Robfogel looked strong in the opening stanzas of the event, Jones would come to life just before the race’s halfway point. On the ninth lap, Jones would power his way around the early leader and take command of the top spot.

Out front, Jones would seemingly get better lap after lap. While Jones was quick to put this one away, the action behind him would heat up.

Early leader, Robfogel, would find himself in a hard fought battle with Terrell for the runner up position. While Terrell would get the edge at the halfway point, Robfogel would win the battle on the last lap, as he chased Jones acrossed the stripe and settled for second, with Terrell in third, Daniel Whitley in fourth, and Geoff Ensign rounding out the Top-5.

Saturday night, 32 cars would check in for the second round of action with the series, and for the second consecutive race it was Bradley Terrell earning Ashely Van Den Berg Home Loan quick time honors.

Terrell would pick up the win in Benic Enterprises Heat No. 1, Ensign would win Brown and Miller Racing Solutions Heat No. 2, Whitely would take top honors in King Racing Products Heat No. 3, and Jarrett Soares would pick up Santomauro Racing Products Heat No. 4.

Eathon Lanfri was the Santomauro Racing Products Hard Charger, while the Hard Luck Award pres. By TDS went to Braidon Moniz.


1. Shawn Jones #14

2. Nick Robfogel #3

3. Bradley Terrell #11BT

4. Daniel Whitley #6K

5. Geoff Ensign #3T

6. Matt Streeter #3F

7. Jarrett Soares #51

8. Brent Steck #2STX

9. Marcus Hardina #21X

10.Kevin Box #2

11.Tony Bernard #50

12.Ethon Lanfri #31

13.James Williams #13W

14.Cameron Martin #11X

15.Sparky Howard #6

16.Bob Newberry #36

17.Nathan Schank #1S

18.Ka'imi Moniz-Costa #5

19.Dennis Faria Jr. #57N

ON TAP: The next race for the series will be on May 15th at Merced Speedway.

WINNERS: Jake Morgan (April 3rd Placerville Speedway), Shawn Jones (April 17th Petaluma Speedway)

STAY CONNECTED: Stay up to speed with the series by liking us at clicking over to the new

JOE HUNT MAGNETOS WINGLESS SERIES- Joe Hunt Magnetos’ Roger Gleeson brought the traveling concept to non-wing sprint cars by popular demand in 2010. Over the years, the Joe Hunt Magnetos Sprint Car Series has ran a limited schedule at select tracks around the state. After running under the leadership of Prentice Motorsports Group and Glad Enterprises from 2016-2018, 2019 saw Gleeson come back aboard. 2021 the series will be in action on 13 occasions as they visit five different Northern California venues.

bottom of page